Mrityunjay emerges Speed Climbing Champion

Excelsior Sports Correspondent
JAMMU, Aug 19: Mrityunjay Sharma, an international climber of Oriental Academy Sr. Secondary School, Jammu, a climber in the Junior Boys category, emerged as the new speed climbing champion of J&K in the 17th J&K State Sport Climbing Championship which concluded at Sprawling Buds ICSE School, here.
In a fierce contest with Arun Deep Singh, a Sub Junior National Speed Climbing Champion, who entered the Junior Boys category this year only and Ajay Deep Singh, another talented climber, Mrityunjay generated terrific speed to emerge victorious by clocking 5.76 seconds against the timings of 6.47 seconds and 6.50 seconds clocked by Arun Deep and Ajay Deep to top the wall. In the process all the three winners of the Junior Boys category clocked better timings than the winner in the Men’s category who clocked 7.97 seconds for the same event.
However, in lead climbing Arun Deep Singh displayed good technique and temperament to top the 40ft high wall to win the Boys title. Both Mrityunjay and Ajay Deep Singh also tried their best but could not top the climbing wall and had to contend with the second and third spots. All the three had topped the wall in the semifinal.
In another good contest in speed climbing Shilpa Charak, a zonal medalist clocked 11.79 seconds against Ambreen Fatima’s timing of 13.92 to claim the Gold medal. Vaishali Sharma of Jammu University claimed the bronze medal.
Another remarkable performance came from Rudra Partap Singh, a student of Sprawling Buds ICSE School, Jammu who claimed both the Lead as well as Speed climbing titles in the sub Junior Boys category. Whereas 2nd and 3rd place in lead climbing were bagged by Jay Bharat and Sakshar Rattan of Sainik School, Nagrota, the speed climbing second and third positions were won by Randeep Singh of Sprawling Buds School and Jay Bharat of Sainik School, Nagrota respectively.
There was another lovely competition in lead climbing in the Mini Boys category in which a diminutive Keshwam Dev Singh of Kendriya Vidyalaya, Nagrota emerged victorious. Roohan ul Irshad of Pulwama and Harsh Pir of National Academy, Udhampur secured the second and third positions respectively.
There was a mild upset when Akanksha Sharma of St. Xavier Convent Sr. Secondary School, Barnai, Jammu defeated Sonakshi and Sejal Raina of Sprawling Buds ICSE School, the favorites to win the title. Sonakshi and Sejal finished second and third respectively.
In the girls speed climbing contest Shivani Charak had no serious challenge and she comfortably beat Sonia Sharma of K S Public School, Muthi and Tanisha of Shastri Memorial Hr. Sec. School, Patoli to bag the title. Sonia and Tanisha secured the 2nd and 3rd positions.
In the absence of Asma Gul, Zuffi Shan, a fast upcoming climber of Sprawling Buds ICSE School claimed the Gold medal in speed climbing in the Sub Junior Girls category. Samiksha of K C Gurukul also climbed well to win the Silver medal.
A total of about 200 climbers from various districts of the State participated in the two day competition which was sponsored by J&K State Sports Council.
Mitra Ghosh, a national judge in sport climbing was the President of Jury of the Competition who was well supported by technical personnel and logistics from IMF North Zone Committee, New Delhi. Shawetica Khajuria, an international Judge in Sport climbing, was the organizing Secretary of the competition.
Chairman Indian Mountaineering Foundation North Zone Committee, New Delhi S. Bhattacharjee was the chief guest at the valedictory function who along with Arti Sharma, Principal and Rahul Sharma, Chairman of Sprawling Buds ICSE School distributed medals and mementoes to the winners and participating institutions.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here