JU remains overall champion by securing 65 points

Inter-University Pencak-Silat C’ship concludes

Excelsior Sports Correspondent

JAMMU, May 26: All India Inter-University Pencak Silat Championship, organised by Directorate of Sports and Physical Education, University of Jammu, concluded here today wherein the host University remained overall champion by securing 65 points.
The men’s championship was bagged by GNDU Amritsar with 39 points, whereas the championship in women’s section was won by University of Jammu with 29 points. The runner-up and second runner-up positions in the men’s section were bagged by University of Jammu with 36 points and LPU Punjab with 28 points. Similarly, in the women’s section the 2nd and 3rd places were occupied by LPU Punjab with 21 points and MDU Rohtak University with 17 points respectively.
Prof. Rajni Dhingra, JU’s Dean Research Studies was the chief guest on the valedictory-cum-prize distribution function in the presence of Nadeem Dar, Deputy Registrar University of Kashmir, Deputy Director SAI, Ex Ranji player of J&K , Dr Roopali Slathia Physical Director GCW Gandhi Nagar.
Earlier, Dr. Daud Iqbal Baba, Director, Directorate of Sports and Physical Education presented the formal report of the said championship in which he mentioned that the Association of Indian Universities has entrusted the responsibility to the University for hosting the All India event in which the players from 46 Universities participated.
In women tanding under-45kg, Deepika Kumawat of Mahadev University Rajasthan and Mitali of LPU won gold and silver, while Jai Shree of University of Lucknow and Seema Rani of GJUS&T Hisar clinched bronze medal, whereas in 45-50kg class-A, Komal Dhiman of Cluster University Jammu (CLUJ) and Ravina of GJUS&T Hisar secured gold and silver, while Priti of MDU Rohtak and Radha of University of Jammu (JU) bagged bronze medals and in 50-55 kg class-B, Anju Kumari of PU and Harshita S of Bengaluru City University won gold and silver, while Prachi Verma of University of Lucknow and Riya Kumawat of Madhav University Rajasthan clinched bronze medals.
In 60-65 kg class-D, Preeti Saini (PU Chandigarh) and Gulshan Bibi (JU) secured top two medals respectively, while Pooja Rani (P.U Patiala) and Muskan Shabam (KU) shared bronze medals, whereas in 65-70kg, class-E, Kusam Rani (JU) and Sonia (C.U Mohali) bagged top two medals respectively, while Amandeep Kour (P.U Patiala) and Vaishalli (Karnataka Women’s University Vijayapur) clinched bronze medals and in 75-80 kg class -G, Anita Rani (C.U Mohali) and Parmeet Kour (JU) won gold and silver, while Anjali (LPU) and Sarita (MDU Rohtak) clinched bronze medals.
In women ganda, Sonia and Simran (LPU) and Neha Rani & Sapna Kumar (GNDU) stood 1st and 2nd, while Manisha & Jamuna Bhoi (PU Patiala) and Deepika Kumawat & Riya Kumawat (Madhav University Rajasthan) clinch clinched bronze medals.
In women tunggal, team of Muskan, Mithali & Shital (LPU) and Neha Rani, Manpreet Kour & Manpreet Kour (GNDU) won gold and silver medals respectively, while team of Kamalpreet Kaur, Daljeet Kaur & Simranjeet Kaur (PU Chandigarh) and Jamuna Bhoi, Anju and Manisha (PU Patiala) clinched bronze medals.
In men tanding 55-60kg class -C, Vinay (GNDU) and Faiz Fayaz Shah (KU) won top two medals respectively, while Arun (GJUS&T) Manjay Kumar (JU) clinched bronze medals, in 60-65 kg class-D, H. Bishan Meetei (LPU) and Manish Kumawat (Mahadev University Rajasthan) bagged gold and silver, while Gourav Pandey (PU Chandigarh) and Vishesh Thakur (JU) secured bronze medals, in 65-70kg class-E, Omkar Ganesh of Chatrapati Shivaji University (gold), Bhanu Pratap of JU (silver), Gurlal Singh of CU Mohali (bronze) and Aman of MDU Rohtak (bronze), in 70-75 kg class-F, Ajay Kumar of GNDU (gold), Aadhishwar Vaid of JU (silver), Punitpal Singh of PU Patiala (bronze) and Tanzeel-Ul-Rehman of CLUS (bronze), in 75-80 kg class-G, Lakshit Thakur of LPU (gold), Manoj Kumar of Desh Bhagat University, Gobindgarh (silver), Aryan Gupta of JU (bronze) and Panchandra of HD Presidency University Bangalore (bronze), in 85-90kg class- I, Jatindera of GNDU (gold), Rohan Sharma of JU (silver), Mohit of LPU (bronze) and Sahil of PU Chandigarh (bronze), in 90-95 kg class -J, Akashdeep of GNDU (gold), Shubham Kerni of JU (silver), Shubam Mittal of PU Chandigarh (bronze) and Aditya Chopra of LPU (bronze), in 95-110 kg class open-1, Gurmeet Singh Manhas of JU (gold), Vansh Chahalo of LPU (silver), Abhiresh KS of University Of Calicut (bronze) and Karamveer of Madhav University Rajasthan (bronze).
In men tunggal, Hardik Kale of CU Mohali (gold), Abhishek Kumar Goutam of LPU (silver), Sarnaik Anuj Data of GNDU (bronze) and Krishna Panchal of Tilak Maharashtra Vidyapeeth Pune (bronze), in men ganda, Sachit Sharma and Shubam Ruhela of GNDU (gold), Rahul Saini & H. Bishan Meetie of LPU (silver), Aryan & Hanik Bawa of PU Patiala (bronze) and Tarun Sharma & Bhupinder Singh of JU (bronze).
In men tunggal, team of Kumar Anand, Abhishek Kumar & Shivam Singh of GNDU (gold), while team of Raman kumar, Abhi Ahuja and Deepak Kumar of PU Patiala (silver), team of Aman A, Ajet Kumar Jat, Ashish Kumar Singh of LPU (bronze) and Nitish Kumar, Suraj Singh & Naman Kumar of PU Chandigarh (bronze).