J&K wins 7 medals in NZ Shooting Championship

Excelsior Sports Correspondent

Medal winners in NZ Shooting Championship posing for a group photograph alongwith IGP Dilbag Singh and other dignitaries.
JAMMU, Oct 15: J&K shooters clinched four gold and three silver medals in the 32nd North Zone Shooting Championship-2012 in Small Bore Rifle, Pistol and Shotgun events at Dr Karni Singh Shooting Ranges in New Delhi.
It is second brilliant performance from State shooters after Digvijay Singh, Vijay Kumar, Surjeet Singh, Siraj Alam have excelled in this field.
Deekika Singh of Trikura College won gold medal in 50 mtrs prone event, securing 576 points out of 600 while Joysthana bagged gold in senior section of .22 event by securing 561 points out of 600. Shiviani remained sixth in the 50 mtrs prone junior.
Besides, Sushiil Kumar of NCC shooting club an affiliated body of JKRA took gold in the junior section of .22 event. He has secured 565 points out of 600. Vishal Choudhary got silver medal in junior section of .22 event with 563 points. Aman Singh bagged silver medal in three position event. He has won his second silver medal in 50 mtr prone event. Sahil Sharma secured gold medal in 50 mtr prone event with 577 points out of 600.
Tarun Dev Singh remained fourth in the 50 mtr senior event Sukhmeet Singh got eleventh rank. Swati Mishra finished third among top six in 50 mtr three position event in the competition.
Meanwhile, IGP Jammu Zone Dilbag Singh who is also working president of the Jammu and Kashmir Rifle Association felicitated the all the medal winners of the North zone competition in a simple and impressive function held here today. Group Commander Col AS Chandhok VSM was the guest of honour. The function was attended by Sudhir Kumar Secretary cum Treasurer, JKRA KS Jamwal, Sr vice president, Pankaj Sharma executive members, Major KDS Jamwal and Taranjeet Singh.
The team: Deepika Singh (gold), Swati Mishra (third ranked), Shivani(6th ranked), Joythsana (gold) , Sahil Sharma (gold), Aman Singh (2 silver medal), Vishal Choudhary (silver), TDS Jamwal (4th ranked), Sukhmeet Singh (11th ranked), Sushil Kumar (gold),, Ranjit Chopra, Shanker Gupta, Sandeep Bandral, Vibhas Gupta and Digvijay Singh (fifth ranked in .177 air rifle).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here