Tamojit Chakraborty lifts title trophy

Excelsior Sports Correspondent

Winners in Patnitop Open 2012 All India Open Fide Rating Chess Tournament posing for a group photograph alongwith officials on Monday.
JAMMU, Oct 15: Tamojit Chakraborty of West Bengal thrashed his opponent and lifted the title trophy of the All India Fide Rating Chess Tournament organised by All J&K Chess Association under the banner of All India Chess Federation, at Patnitop, today.
Meanwhile, Yogesh Gautam of Haryana and Deep Kapoor of New Delhi claimed second and third positions respectively in the tournament.
On the concluding day today cash prizes worth Rs 90,000 were distributed among the winners and participants of the tournament by Atul Kumar Gupta, joint secretary, All India Chess Federation and President, All J&K Chess Association in presence of Baldev Raj, secretary of the association.
In the tournament, 73 players from 16 states participated, while, Yashpal Arora of MP was the Chief Arbiter, during the event.
Trophies were also presented to MS Rathore of Rajasthan, Niklesh Jain and Dheeraj Dubey of MP, Piyush Manuja of Chandigarh, Atul Kumar of J&K, Mohd Khaja Abdul Latheef of AP, Mughaho Awomi of Nagaland, Dhruvik Shah of Gujarat, Ajit Singh of J&K, Nitul Khare of MP, Jitender Rawat of Delhi, Shishir Kumar of Delhi, Basha Rabbani of AP, Nishi Iyer of West Bengal, Ravi Sharma of J&K, Jatinder Singh of J&K and PK Salih of Kerala.
Meanwhile, special trophies were awarded to Adil Ashraf, Rohit Bhardwaj, Arvindu, Chetanya Sharma and Puneet, all from J&K.
The best woman of the tournament award was present to Meenal Gupta of J&K, whereas, young player award was conferred to Dewang Gupta.
Soham Gupta claimed gold medal in best under 9 player, while, best under-11 player trophy was presented to Anshuman Singh. Best under-13 player gold medal was conferred to Sangam Angural, whereas, best under-15 player award was presented to Somil. Best under-17 player award was presented to Shivinder Chib, whereas, Achutendra Singh claimed best under-19 player award.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here