J&K drubs Haryana by 6 wkts to register 3rd consecutive win

J&K U-23 team posing alongwith Support Staff after registering win against Haryana at Dharamsala.
J&K U-23 team posing alongwith Support Staff after registering win against Haryana at Dharamsala.

Excelsior Sports Correspondent
JAMMU, Jan 27: Brilliant batting display by talented Shubham Singh Pundir and wicketkeeper batsman Fazil Rashid, coupled with superb bowling show by speedster Rohit Sharma and as usual magnificent bating by Ahmad Omar Banday guided Jammu and Kashmir to outplay Haryana and register 3rd consecutive win in the ongoing Mens Under-23 Cricket Tournament at Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association Stadium, Dharamsala.
With this win J&K qualified for the Super League/knockout stage of the Tournament and is eying to top North Zone.
Earlier, put into bat, Haryana scored a decent total of 249 runs in 49.3 overs. Opener SR Sharma top scored with 60 runs, while SD Dhull and skipper AR Rana contributed 56 and unbeaten 45 runs respectively. Speedster Rohit Sharma was the pick of the bowlers, who took 3 important wickets by conceding 37 runs in his 10 overs, while another speedster Akash Choudhary bagged 2 wickets by giving 54 runs in 9.3 overs. Paras Sharma, Abid Mushtaq, Auqib Nabi and Muneeb Munaf claimed one wicket each.
In reply, J&K chased the target in 49.3 overs by losing 6 wickets to win the match by 4 wickets. Shubham Singh Pundir scored splendid 85 runs off 93 balls including 7 fours and one six, while Fazil Rashid scored 65 off 60 balls with the help of 6 fours and 1 six. Opener Ahmad Omar Banday and skipper Shubham Khajuria contributed valuable 40 and 26 runs to the total respectively. RJ Balhara took 3 wickets for Haryana, while Aman Kumar, Tinu Kundu and skipper AR Rana shared one wicket each.
The J&K team is being accompanied by Fayaz Hazare as manager and Sameer Khajuria as coach, while Mohd Iqbal and Dr Karran Nayyar are the trainer and physio respectively. Member of the JKCA 4-Member Committee, Shiban Lal Trakroo also witnessed the match.
The J&K team has been selected by the then senior selectors Ashwani Gupta (Chairman), Vivek Sharma, Arshid Bhat and Pradeep Bali.