Inter-Zone Taekwondo competition commences

Chief guest inaugurating Inter-Zone Taekwondo competition along with other dignitaries at Poonch.
Chief guest inaugurating Inter-Zone Taekwondo competition along with other dignitaries at Poonch.

Excelsior Sports Correspondent

JAMMU, Sept 20: Inter-Zone level Taekwondo competition, organised by Department of Youth Services and Sports, commenced at Hari Memorial Modern Academy near Power House Poonch, today.
About 65 young budding players of all age group boys are taking part in the competitions wherein Principal of the host School, Sanjeev Kumar was the chief guest.
Speaking on the occasion, the chief guest said that sports play an important role in the physical and mental development of a child. All bouts were held under the technical supervision of Rajinder Singh (PET) with the help of Vaqar Ahmed and Devinderpal Singh (both REKs)
Faisal Nasar, Rashid Ikhlaq, Aaryan Digpal, Manmeet Singh, Garvin Gupta, Mohd Adil Khan, Amakesh Kumar, Vishvas Sudan, Mohd Shoieb, Hashim Rashid, Mohd Rizwan, Mohd Ateeq, Vishnu Raina, Akarshit Sudan, Toseef Tahir, Karan, Sheezan Shakeel, Zahid Naz, Abhishek Sawhney, Rizwan Hamid and Irfan Hamid clinched Gold medals.
Danish Hussain, Sharaz Ahmed, Khalil Ahmed, Sarab Ahmed, Yasir Hamid, Mohd Sohail, Imtaiz Ahmed and Rudransh Sharma won Silver medals.
Meanwhile, on 2nd day of the ongoing District level Inter-Zonal under-19 boys at Udhampur, Volleyball and Kabaddi matches were played at Mini Stadium and Subash Stadium Udhampur.
Around 75 boys participated from four zones, out of 11 zones wherein DYSSO Udhampur Swaran Singh was the chief guest, whereas ZPEO Santosh Kumari along with Mohd Imam Khan were guests of honour.
In Volleyball, Tikri beat Dudu by 2-0 sets, while Chenani trounced Ghordi and Chenani defeated Tikri by 2-0 sets, whereas in Kabaddi, Chenani beat Tikri by 36-28 points, Ghordi trounced Dudu by 28-24 points and Chenani got better of Ghordi by 31-21 points.
All the matches were officiated by Swarandeep Singh Tara, Sanjeev Verma, Vikrant Balgotra, Deepak Sharma, Pushap Kumar, Rakesh Kumar, Rakesh Sawhney and Ram Kumar.
Moreover, Inter-Zonal Tennis Cricket tournament for girls was also inaugurated at Sports Stadium Doda wherein DYSSO Doda Jafar Haider Sheikh was the chief guest of the event.