Inter-college debate competition organised

A participant being awarded by dignitaries at MIER College Jammu on Thursday.
A participant being awarded by dignitaries at MIER College Jammu on Thursday.

Excelsior Correspondent
JAMMU, Aug 18: An inter-college debate competition on the theme “Impact of Social Media on Education” was organized by the Co-Curricular Committee of MIER College of Education, here today.
Dr Adit Gupta, Director and Principal MIER College, Rupa Gupta, Joint Director MIER, Dr Mool Raj Sharma, HoD PG Department, Dr Rohnika Sharma, HoD UG Department along with the faculty members and students of both UG and PG departments attended the event.
Dr Aksa Rao, Associate Professor and Head Department of English, Govt. Degree College Akhnoor and Dr Sonia Khajuria, Associate Professor, Department of English, GCW Parade Ground Jammu were the jury members of the event.
Dr Rohnika Sharma extended a very warm welcome to the jury members, participants, dignitaries and the audience. Ten students from five Colleges of Jammu city participated in the debate competition. All the participants expressed their views either in favour or against the theme in a very succinct and impressive manner.
On the basis of the results given by the jury members, Muskaan Adhlakha of MIER College of Education and Prince Khajuria of Kawa College of Education shared first prize, while Preet Uppal of MIER College of Education won the second prize and Kokila Sharma of Govt. College of Education secured third position. All the winners were awarded with trophies and certificates of merit. Certificates were also distributed to all the participants.
Speaking on the occasion, Dr Mool Raj Sharma appreciated the efforts of the participants and the co-curricular committee. He emphasized that though social media is a boon for education, but it should be used judiciously by the students so that they do not get addicted to it.
The programme was compered by Shreya Baru, student of MIER College, while Komal Sharma, convener co-curricular committee presented a formal vote of thanks.