GDC Kathua wins Inter-Collegiate Hockey Tournament

Winners of Hockey Tournament posing along with chief guest and other dignitaries in Jammu.
Winners of Hockey Tournament posing along with chief guest and other dignitaries in Jammu.

Excelsior Sports Correspondent
JAMMU, Nov 10: Government Degree College (GDC) Kathua lifted the title trophy of the Inter-Collegiate Hockey (Men) Tournament, beating  Govt MAM College in a close contest by five goals to four (5-4) via tie-breaker at  University Hockey Field, here today.
The tournament was organized by the Directorate of Sports & Physical Education, University of Jammu. Total ten teams’ participated in the tournament.
The match was decided through tie-breaker as both the teams scored one goal each in the stipulated time.
Sandeep Singh scored  a field  goal for the  Kathua team  in the  28th minute in the stipulated time, while Sahil Chib scored a  goal for the MAM College  team in the  54th minute of the match.
In the tie-breaker (shootout) Gopal Singh, Sukhwinderpal Singh, Jagmeet Singh and Sandeep Singh scored the goals for the GDC Kathua  team, while for the MAM College  team Gurpreet Singh, Harsh Vaid  and  Sahil Chib netted  goals  in the  tie-breaker.
Prof RD Sharma, Vice Chancellor, University of  Jammu was  the chief guest on the  valedictory  function, who interacted with the players  of  both the teams  and officials  of  the  tournament and also awarded  trophy to the winner team  along with Prof. Avtar Singh Jasrotia, Director, Directorate of Sports and Physical Education, University of  Jammu.
Prominent among others present on the occasion were Prof JP Singh Joorel (Director HRD Centre University of Jammu, Dr.Neeraj Sharma (Spl. Secretary to the Vice Chancellor), Prof Ashok Kumar, Prof Subhash Sharma, Prof Kuldeep Singh, Sh.Sumnesh Sharma  (Physical Director), Pawan Singh Bhau, Gurpreet Singh, Rajinder Singh, Harmanan Singh, Gagan Kumar, Vikas Karlopia, Ravish Vaid, Jai Bharat, Dr.Brij Baloria, Ramesh Magotra, Harinderpal Singh and  Arjun Singh Chib.
The match was officiated by Karanjeet Singh, JS Reen , Harmeek Singh, Harvinderpal Singh and PD Singh.