Budgam Taekwondo C’ship-2021 concludes

Winners celebrating victory with a trophy at Budgam on Monday.
Winners celebrating victory with a trophy at Budgam on Monday.

Excelsior Sports Correspondent
SRINAGAR, Sept 13: 23rd Budgam District Taekwondo Championship, organised by District Association under the aegis of J&K Taekwondo Association, concluded at Railway Hall, here today.
Chief Area Manager, Northern Railways, Saqib Yousuf was the chief guest at the presentation ceremony of the event who distributed medals and certificates among the winners of the championships. He also donated Rs 3,000 for the purchase of mouth guards of the players who were playing without such equipment.
Nisar Hussain Wani, vice president (K) J&K Taekwondo Association was the guest of honour, whereas Syed Ashaq Hussain joint secretary District Association presided over the closing ceremony.
In Sub-junior boys (50kg) Rayees Ali, Uzair Shabir & Furhaan Tariq won top three medals respectively, whereas in junior girls (49kg) Shahida Yousuf and Muskaan Zainub won gold and silver medals and in 63 kg, Arifa Zehra, Rabia Zehra & Aira Zargar clinched top three medals besides, in junior boys (48kg), top three positions were clinched by Yasir Bashir, Aabid Hassan & Adil Ramzan respectively, whereas in 55kg, Anam-ul- Yousuf, Ayan Javaid Rather & Adil Hussain bagged top three medals and in 59kg, Azad Ahmad Beigh, Danish Mushtaq & Dawood Mushtaq secured gold, silver and bronze medals. Moreover, in 63kg, Sajad Ahmad Beigh and Zeeshan Rafiq won gold and silver and Anees Yousuf and Talha Rashid Qureshi shared bronze medal and in 68kg, Danish Ali, Nadeem Yousuf & Nadeem Ramzan stood 1st, 2nd and 3rd respectively.
In senior girls (53kg), Misbah Altaf & Iqra Akhter remained 1st and 2nd, whereas in senior boys (58kg) Waseem Ahmad Kumhar, Mohd Abass & Aaqib Hussain clinched top three positions, and in 63kg, Ishfaq Ahmad Wani, Aijaz Ali & Imdad Ali stood 1st, 2nd and 3rd respectively besides in 68kg, Bilal Ahmad Rather, Sheikh Aadil & Nahid Shafi won top three medals respectively.
Waseem Kumhar of Dynamic Academy of Martial Arts was awarded as the best fighter of the championship. The medal winners of this championship will participate in the forthcoming UT level championships.