Annual Sports Meet ‘Combatica-2022’ held at CUJ

Winners celebrating during the Annual Sports meet organised by Central University of Jammu on Wednesday.
Winners celebrating during the Annual Sports meet organised by Central University of Jammu on Wednesday.

Excelsior Sports Correspondent

JAMMU, May 25: The Directorate of Physical Education, Central University of Jammu (CUJ) organized an Annual Sports Meet ‘Combatica- 2022’, here today.
About 1908 students participated in various events including Marathon, Cricket, Football, Table Tennis, Kabaddi, Volleyball, Badminton, Chess, Carrom, Kho-Kho, 100m race, 200m race, 400m Relay race, Long Jump, Javelin Throw, Discus Throw and Shotput.
The prize distribution ceremony was formally inaugurated by Vice Chancellor CUJ, Prof Sanjeev Jain. The Vice Chancellor lauded the efforts of organizers for successfully organizing the ‘Combatica’ and encouraged the Directorate of Physical Education and different coordinators to focus on building the qualities like sportsmanship, discipline, and zeal among the students for their holistic development.
Rakesh Magotra, Additional Secretary, Youth Services and Sports Department J&K (UT) was the chief guest for the felicitation ceremony, while Kuldeep Handoo, DySP, JK Police and Dronacharya Awardee J&K (UT) was the guest of honour.
Rakesh Magotra informed the students to take the benefit of the recently formulated Sports Policy of UT, while Kuldeep Handoo congratulated all the winners and participants and encouraged them to be involved in sports activities rather than falling into drugs. He emphasized that there is a need to promote more sports activities in educational institutions.
The felicitation ceremony of the sports meet was started with the welcome address by Dr Yashwant Singh, Director, Directorate of Physical Education and Registrar (In-charge) of the University.
In cricket a total of 10 teams participated and a team of the department of CSIT led by Inam-ul-Haq won the tournament, while the cricket women’s team led by Manpreet won the finals. The volleyball team led by Karthik Charak won the tournament, while Table Tennis men’s category event was won by Vasab Gupta and Roqsana Batoon won the match in the women’s category.
In Kabaddi, the men’s team led by Rajak Dogra won the tournament, while the women’s team led by Latika won the tournament. Kho-Kho men’s team led by Mohd Farooq and Kho Kho women’s team led by Chahat Mahajan won the tournament.
In Marathon Prasuail, Sakshi Thakur was the winner in the women’s category, whereas the team of Prof Rasal Singh, and Dr Shaveta Kohli were the winners in the faculty category and the team ofAnkur Sharma and Kairavi was declared winners in the non-teaching category.