All India 8th Gufran Memorial T-20 Cricket Champ Zakir Club drubs New Star by 5 wkts

Excelsior Sports Correspondent
DODA, May 18: Zakir Cricket Club (ZCC) Doda drubbed New Star Jodhpur Doda by 5 wickets to advance in the ongoing All India 8th Gufran Memorial T-20 Cricket Championship, being organized by Young Star Cricket Club, Doda at Sports Stadium, here.
The tournament is being sponsored by J&K Bank and Bajaj Allianz Life Insurance, Doda .
Earlier, electing to bat first after winning the toss, New Star Jodhpur Doda scored a modest total of 101 runs in the stipulated 20 overs, losing 7 wickets in the process. Raj Kumar played a magnificent innings of 44 runs, while Sunil Sharma contributed 14 runs to the total. Nazir took 2 wickets, while Nawaz claimed one for ZCC.
In reply, ZCC played sensibly and chased the target in 13 overs by losing 5 wickets, and won the match by 5 wickets. Nasir and Haroon scored 28 and 18 runs respectively. From New Star Doda, Bunty captured 2 wickets and Ravinder claimed one. Nasir of Zakir Cricket Club was adjudged man of the match.
In another match played today, HPCC Jammu thrashed Durga Cricket Club Ramban by 3 wickets.
Batting first, Durga Cricket Club collapsed at 84 runs in 17 overs as HPCC bowlers bowled with a disciplined line and length. Aman was the top scorer with 22 runs, while Bikram contributed 16 runs to the total. For HPCC, Bilawal scalped 2 wickets, while Sunny claimed one.
In reply, HPCC chased the target in just 9 overs by losing 3 wickets, and thus won the match by 7 wickets. Farooq was the top scorer with 33 runs, while Ahmed contributed 10 runs to the winning cause. For DCCR, Charan and Suraj shared 2 and 1 wicket respectively. Farooq of HPCC Jammu was awarded as man of the match, who was presented a trophy and a cash prize by the chief guest Kapil Dev Kotwal of J&K Bank.
The match was officiated by BCCI Level-II umpires Ram Kishore Burdey and Sanjay Singh Tkapoo, while Dheerand Singh acted as scorer.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here