Abhay, Yatiksha, Divyam, Jhanavi, Sunpreet, Shreya, Shorya, Dheeraj, Chandpreet win titles

Excelsior Sports Correspondent
JAMMU, Dec 29: Scripting wins over their rivals in summit clashes, Abhay Koul, Yatiksha, Divyam Pandoh, Jhanavi Pandoh, Sunpreet, Shreya, Shorya, Dheeraj and Chandpreet won title trophies in the 34th State Open Table Tennis Championship, which concluded at Indoor Complex MA Stadium, here today.
Sudhanshu Pandey, senior vice president J&K Table Tennis Association and Joint Secretary, Ministry of Commerce and Industry, Government of India, was the chief guest on the occasion, while Dilbag Singh, IGP Jammu was the guest of honour. The chief guest and the guest of honour distributed prizes among the winners and the runner-up peddlers of the championship.
Earlier, in cadet boys, Abhay Koul got better of Ninnad in the title clash (3-1) by (11-5, 9-11, 11-3, 11-9), while cadet girls Yatiksha outplayed Bhabya Rakwal in straight sets by (11-9, 11-9, 11-9).
In sub junior boys, Divyam Pandoh scripted a narrow win over Asad Sharma (3-2) by (11-7, 7-11, 11-7, 7-11, 11-6), while in sub junior girls, Jhanvi Pandoh prevailed over Shreya (3-2) by ( 11-8, 11-7, 7-11, 7-11, 11-9).
Sunpreet defeated Divyam Pandoh (3-1) in junior boys final by (11-4, 11-9, 9-11, 11-8), while in junior girls, Shreya toppled Jhanvi Pandoh (3-0) by (11-1, 11-5, 11-0).
In youth boys, Shorya won in a close contested final against Jayesh by (3-2) sets with the scores reading (3-11, 4-11, 11-8, 11-9, 14-12).
Dheeraj won the men’s singles title by defeating Sandeep (3-1) by (6-11, 11-9, 11-1, 11-6), while in women’s singles final, Chandpreet trounced Shzar (3-1) by (14-12, 7-11, 11-9, 11-4) to lift the title.
Prominent among others present on the occasion were Sidharath Sharma, Joint Secretary J&K State Sports Council, Ajay Sharma, general secretary J&K Table Tennis association, Sheetal Gandotra, general secretary J&K Billiards and Snooker Association, S Narinder Singh, Sanjay Gupta, Sunil Sharma, Saleem Bandey, Rajan Sharma, Satish Gupta Manager Indoor Sports Complex, Satbir Singh, IP Singh, Sanjay Mahajan, Manmeet Kour, VB Sadhotra, MS Baba Chief Sports Officer, Harinder Mahajan and VK Magoo.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here