5th IDCA Deaf IPL concludes in Jammu

Champion team posing along with dignitaries on Friday.
Champion team posing along with dignitaries on Friday.

*Bengaluru Badshahs lifts title

Excelsior Sports Correspondent
JAMMU, Apr 19: The 5th Deaf Indian Premier League organized by the Indian Deaf Cricket Association (IDCA) at MA Stadium, concluded here today.
Deputy Commissioner Jammu, Sachin Kumar Vaishya was the chief guest on the occasion, while Sher Singh ADDC Jammu and Ranjeet Kalra, Ace Sports Administrator and Member of J&K Sports Council were the guests of honour. Baljinder Singh, Chief Sports Officer JKSC; Suraj Bhan Singh, Judo Coach and Pawandeep Kaur, Athletics Coach and Rajesh Dhar, Media Manager JKCA were the special guests.
Deputy Commissioner Jammu said everyone wanted to contribute to the society in one way or the other, adding as Administrators and the Officers dealing with offices and files is never a big ask, however, performance of specially-abled athletes is always an uphill task. “Specially-abled persons are the real heroes of society. They deserve appreciation and salutations,” Sachin Kumar said.
Earlier, Ranjeet Kalra welcomed the chief guest and lavished praise on the organisers and the sponsors for holding the event in a most befitting manner. Meanwhile, Deaf Bengaluru Badshahs and Deaf Hyderabad Eagles emerged as joint winners of the title. However, Bengaluru Badshahs were declared the winners on toss of the coin.
Sudershan of Deaf Hyderabad Eagles was declared as the player of the final match and the best bowler, while Virender Singh of Bengaluru Badshahs and Umar Ashraf Beigh of Hyderabad Eagles were adjudged as the best Wicketkeeper and best Fielder of the League. Suhail Ahmed of Hyderabad Eagles, Deepak Kumar of Punjab Warriors and Sai Naresh of Chennai Blasters were awarded for Super Sixes, most wickets in one match and fastest Fifty respectively.
Chief Guest, Sachin Kumar and the Guest of Honour, Ranjeet Kalra alongwith the special guests distributed trophies, cash awards and individual medals among the players of the winners and the runners-up teams. A cash prize of Rs 3,00,000 (Three lakh) was presented to Bengaluru Badshahs and Hyderabad Eagles by the chief guest.
The League was held under the overall supervision of Sumit Jain, President IDCA, while Mirza Momin Beigh was the coordinator of the event and Peerzada Shahid as the Translator. Sumit Jain expressed gratitude to Lieutenant Governor Manoj Sinha, University of Jammu and J&K Sports Council for their large heartedness and cooperation in organizing the cricket league.
Deepak Gupta, President Traders Federation Ware House for sponsored refreshments for all the players on all four match days.