26 players leading at 2 points each in Senior National Chess Championship

Players during Senior National Chess Championship at Jammu on Sunday. -Excelsior/Rakesh
Players during Senior National Chess Championship at Jammu on Sunday. -Excelsior/Rakesh

Excelsior Sports Correspondent
JAMMU, Dec 9: After two rounds of Senior National Chess Championship, being played at Gurjar Desh Charitable Trust Channi Himmat, 26 players are leading at 2 points each.
Top rated player Arjuna Awardee Grand Master Abhijeet Gupta, GM Tejas Baker, GM Vaibhav Suri, IM VAV Rajesh, GM Arvind Chidambram, GM Sriram Jha, GM Deep Sengupta, Sammed Jaykumar Shete, IM Ratnakaram K and GM Deepan Chakraborty are among the leaders.
Still 11 more rounds are to be played in this event.
162 players from 27 States and 8 special units are participating including 19 Grand Masters and 20 International Masters and some Arjuna Awardee players.
This is also a Asian Zonal 3.7 event as India is a separate Zone in Asia.
Total prizes of Rs 20 lakh will be distributed among top 10 players and first prize being Rs 5 lakh.
A total of 13 rounds will be played. Selected players will lead the Asian Zone 3.7 in world events.
It is the strongest ever National Chess Championship held in India with the participation of 50 titled players.
Soham Kamotra, Sumit Grover, Khalid Amin, Ajit Singh, Ankush Bhardwaj, SP Sharma, Ashutosh Jamwal and Surinder are players from J&K in this event.
Young Ashutosh Jamwal of J&K defeated International Master Rahul Shetty and kept J&K flag high.
The event is played under Fide laws of Chess under Swiss System. International Arbiter Dharmendra Kumar is the Chief Arbiter of this event who is supported by seven Deputy Arbiters.
This type of event will go a long way in promotion of sports culture in J&K. The matches are conducted under overall supervision of AJKCA President Atul Kumar Gupta.
All J&K Chess Association members present in today matches include AR Wani, Ashiq Ahmed, Baldev Raj, Taranvir Singh, Kuljeet Jamwal, Farooq Ahmad, Mohammad Shafi, Khalid Amin, Raj Kumar and Vikas Nanda.