1st Table Tennis C’ship inaugurated

SSP Rajesh Kumar Sharma presenting trophy to Inspector Sudhir Kumar at Samba on Wednesday.
SSP Rajesh Kumar Sharma presenting trophy to Inspector Sudhir Kumar at Samba on Wednesday.

Excelsior Sports Correspondent

SAMBA, Sept 29: 1st Table Tennis Championship was inaugurated by CMO Dr Vikram Jamwal in presence of Baljinder Pal Singh Manager J&K Sports Council, SHO Sudhir Sadhotra and Ajatshatru Singh Sambyal at Indoor Sports Stadium, here today.
SSP Samba Rajesh Kumar Sharma distributed the prizes among the winners of men and women under-19 boys, Under-17 girls and Under-13 boys and veterans men categories.
In men category, Ajay Singh beat Munish Verma by 11-2, 11-7, 11-5, while in women: Sakshi trounced Diksha by 11-9, 11-7 and in under-19 boys, Paras Mehra defeated Kushan Salathia by 11-7, 9-11, 11-5, besides in under-17 girls, Tulsi got better of Tanu Gotra by 11-9, 11-7, while in under-13 boys, Samrath Sambyal beat Shivang Mangotra by 11-9, 11-8 and in veteran category, Sudhir SHO Samba beat Dr Vikram Jamwal by 9-11,11-9,11-13.
SSP Samba appreciated the initiative of Samba Table Tennis Association and J&K Sports Council for organising such a tournament.
Meanwhile, 3-days long District Udhampur Open Table Tennis Championship, organised under the aegis of J&K Table Tennis Association and J&K Sport Sports Council, commenced at Indoor Sports Hall, Udhampur.
At the opening ceremony, ASP Anwar-Ul-Haq was the chief guest on the occasion, while Naveen Sharma (Manager Subash Stadium) was the guest of honour.
Earlier, a floral tribute was paid to Late Devinder Sharma (Munna Thanda), former general secretary of the Association.
In sub-junior boys, Prajwal Bandral beat Abhinav Sharma by 2-1, whereas Madhav Magotra trounced Vivaan Sharma by 2-0 and in junior boys, Aditya Thappa defeated Madhav by 2-0.