Zorawar elected President of Mountaineering Association

Excelsior Sports Correspondent
JAMMU, Jan 18: Zorawar Singh Jamwal, Secretary General Press Club Jammu has been unanimously elected as the President of Mountaineering Association of J&K in an election meeting held today at Press Club here.
Shawetica Khajuria of Tawi Trekkers J&K was elected as General Secretary of the Association.
Ram Khajuria was unanimously elected as the Sr Vice President, while Yogeshwar Kumar of J&K Mountaineering and Allied Sports Club was retained as Vice President of Jammu division and Syed Sarmad Rashid of Sunridges Mountaineering & Trekking Club, Pulwama was elected as Vice President of Kashmir division.
Manik Slathia of Ibex Adventure Club, Samba and Syed Muhatiz Andravi of Pulwama were also elected as Joint Secretaries for Jammu and Kashmir divisions respectively, while Sushil Singh of Ibex Adventure Club retained the post of Treasurer of the Association.
Five members of the Executive body which included Everester Ram Singh, S. Daljeet Singh, Rakesh Goswami, Sonam Sidharth and Anukampa Sharma were also unanimously elected.
Four members of some other clubs will be nominated in the Executive body later on to give proper representation to the clubs.
Ravi Singh, Divisional Sports Officer J&K Sports Council was the Observer, while Mitra Ghosh represented Indian Mountaineering Foundation North Zone Committee, New Delhi as an Observer.
Dr CK Khajuria, former General Secretary of the Association, was the Returning Officer for the elections.
Zorawar Singh Jamwal, the newly elected President while addressing the members thanked them for the trust they had imposed in him and announced that very soon a meeting of the Association will be held to devise ways and means to give more thrust to adventure activities in the Union Territory of J&K so as to produce more quality mountaineers and champion sport climbers.