Wrestler Ajay Sharma lifts Bhamag Kesari title

Excelsior Sports Correspondent
UDHAMPUR, May 18: Wrestler Ajay Sharma of Landen Power House Udhampur lifted 21st Annual Bhamag Kesari title defeating Bhola of Bahadurgarh in Haryana in the main bout at Sardabbar, Kalsote (Moungri), here.
This dangal, part of the three-day Moungri Mela was organized by J&K Indian Style Wrestling Association in collaboration with J&K Police Department, J&K Tourism Department, J&K Bank Moungri and Bhamag Dangal Committee under the overall supervision of president J&K Indian Style Wrestling Association, Shiv Kumar Sharma.
Mela Officer, Tehsildar Moungri, Pankaj Singh Bahu was the chief guest, who witnessed the contest and encouraged the youth to take part in rural sports in a big way. He (Tehsildar) later presented titles and cash prizes in the presence of presiding guest, Shiv Kumar Sharma, who holds the post of treasurer in Indian Style Wrestling Association of India and former Joint Secretary J&K State Sports Council (JKSSC).
Chairman Lord Shiva Parvati Caves Shrine (Moungri), Advocate Swatanter Dev Kotwal, Hemant Singh (DySP), Sameer Jeelani (DySP), Farooq (SHO), Varinder Kumar Badyal (State president International Human Right Council Youth Sports and Skills) were guests of honour.
Prominent among those present were Gopal Krishan (Retd. ZEO), Channay Ram (Retd. ZEO),Sukhdev Singh (vice president of Senior Citizens Welfare Forum Katra), Hans Raj Thakur (Sarpanch), Des Raj (Sarpanch), Babu Ram Sharma, Sansar Chand, Darshan Lal Gupta, Chuni lal, Amar Nath (Headmaster), Rakesh Kumar (Teacher), Kuldeep Sharma (PEM), Sanjeev Sharma (teacher), Sat Paul Verma, and Lochan Singh.
In all, 21 bouts decided in this day-long dangal, including three in women’s section). Winner of the main bout Ajay Sharma was awarded with cash prize of Rs. 11,000 while runner-up, Bholla got Rs 10,000. In the second bout, Salman of Chopra Shop Udhampur defeated Yudhvir of Delhi. Salman was awarded with a cash prize of Rs 6,000 and Yudhvir received Rs 5,000. In another second main bout, Vikas of Delhi outplayed Shotu of Jindrah. Vikas received Rs 6,000 and Shottu got Rs 5,000.
In third bout, Murad Ali of Domana Akhara defeated Liaqat Ali of Bajrangi Akhara Jammu to receive cash prize of Rs 5,000.
Promising young wrestler, Ashok Singh of Government High School Ser Sundwan in district Reasi was honoured by Shiv Kumar Sharma and presented gifts and diet supplements in addition to Rs 1000 cash incentive.