UP Wrestler Rameshwar wins Aghar Jitto Dangal title

Wrestler Rameshwar of Mathura in UP receives 56th Annual Aghar Jitto Kesari Dangal title in Reasi.
Wrestler Rameshwar of Mathura in UP receives 56th Annual Aghar Jitto Kesari Dangal title in Reasi.

Excelsior Sports Correspondent
JAMMU, June 19: Wrestler Rameshwar of Mathura in Uttar Pradesh (UP) lifted the 56th Annual Aghar Jitto Kesari Dangal title defeating Amit of Kohali (Amritsar) in Punjab in the closely contested main bout at village Aghar Jitto in district Reasi.
Dangal was organized in the memory of great revolutionary farmer, Baba Jitto and Bua Kouri as part of three days historic and famous mela held at Aghar Jitto.
The SDM Katra, Ashok Kumar Choudhary was chief guest who distributed cash prizes among the wrestlers in presence of president of J&K Indian Style Wrestling Association, Shiv Kumar Sharma (presiding guest), Baba Mohan Lal and mela officer and guest of honour, Tehsildar Katra, Suneel Sharma.
Varinder Kumar Badyal (state president of IHRC), Naib Tehsildar Katra, Hukam Chand and retired ZEO, Gopal Krishan Komal were guests of honour.
Prominent among others present were Jugal Kishore Sharma (Bunty) of Delhi, Girdawar Avtar Krishan, former Sarpanch Rattan Singh, Deepak Wazir, Patwari Imtiaz Ahmed, Baba Mohan Lal, former Sarpanch Krishan Singh (Pappu), Romesh Chander Sanmotra, Sunil Kohli, Gopal Krishan and Om Parkash Verma.
Winner of the main bout, Rameshwar was awarded with a cash prize of Rs 16,000 while runners-up wrestler, Amit got Rs. 15,000.
In total 37 bouts were decided in this day-long dangal, incurring an expense of Rs. 1,55,000. The second main bout went to Vikas of Bahadurgarh of Haryana), who beat Bagga of Amritsar in Punjab. In another fight for second bout, Arun of BSF emerged winner outplaying Rashid Ahmed of Domana Akhara Jammu. In third main bout, Muneer Khan of Nagrota defeated Gagan of Kohali in Amritsar.
Members who helped in successful conduct of this event were Baba Mohan Lal Ji (chairman) former Sarpanch Krishan Singh (Pappu), Suneel Kohli (president), former ZEO Gopal Krishan, Romesh Kumar Sanmotra, Jugal Kishore Sharma,(Bunty), Om Parkash Malkotra (Retd. Forester), Gopal Krishan, Ishwar Dass, Numberdar Mangat Ram and Mohinder Kumar.
The bouts officiated by the technical penal including Om Parkash Verma, Deepak Wazir, Tulinder Kumar, Pawan Kumar, Madan lal and Murli Dhar (Munna).