Tawi Trekkers hold Annual prize distribution function

Sport Climbers, Mountaineers posing with mementos along with dignitaries in function at Jammu on Monday.
Sport Climbers, Mountaineers posing with mementos along with dignitaries in function at Jammu on Monday.

Excelsior Sports Correspondent

JAMMU, Feb 12: Tawi Trekkers J&K celebrated 41st Annual prize distribution function at Amar Singh Club, Jammu here today.
A number of Sport Climbers, Mountaineers, Institutions which promote adventure activities and its prominent members were honoured by the Chief Guest Sanjeev Verma, Commissioner Secretary to Government General Administration Department (GAD). Anil Goswami, former Union Home Secretary was the presiding guest, Ashwani Sharma, former MLA and patron of the club was the guest of honour.
Patron of the Club Rahul Sharma, Co-Chairman Zorawar Singh Jamwal, Advisor Prof Lalit Magotra, President Dogri Sanstha Jammu; Parveen Sharma, Chairman, the Citizen’s Co-operative Bank Ltd, Jammu; Shiv Kumar Sharma, former Joint Secretary J&K Sports Council; President and General Secretary of the club Ram Khajuria & Shawetica Khajuria besides other office bearers of the club and Mountaineering Association of J&K were present on the occasion.
The main attraction of the prize distribution function was Shivani Charak, the top ranked women sport climber of India who has become the first ever and the only female athlete of J&K to participate in the Asian Games during the last 75 years. Shivani was honoured with a bouquet, a chunni, a memento and a cash prize of Rs. 11,000.
Five mountaineers Sumit Khajuria, Manik Slathia, Shilpa Charak, Shashi Kant Sharma and Sonam Sidharth who scaled over 20000 ft high Kang Yatse peak in Ladakh were also honoured with glittering prizes along with Wing Commander Rajesh Mukhi who trekked to the base camp of Mount Everest and also scaled Island peak (20500ft) in the Everest region.
“Narinder Singh Dedication Award’ was presented to Vivek Chauhan, Principal of Oriental Academy Senior Secondary School, Jammu who embodies a great spirit of selfless service and passion for the club among the 16 institutions which were also awarded for their participation in club’s various activities along with teachers and young members of the club who escorted groups of trekkers during various Trekking Programmes and also contributed to the success of various sport climbing competitions organized by the club.
Sanjeev Verma, Commissioner Secretary stressed upon the importance of enjoying Nature and preserving it while excelling in adventure activities. Ashwani Sharma assured the gathering that now there is a positive mind set in the administration towards sports which was missing earlier. He promised all possible help for further promotion of Sport climbing and mountaineering in the State.