Sombir outplays Georgian Wrestler to lift Roun-Domail title

Winners of Roun-Domail title being honoured by dignitaries on Tuesday.
Winners of Roun-Domail title being honoured by dignitaries on Tuesday.

Excelsior Sports Correspondent
UDHAMPUR, May 21: International Wrestler from Haryana, Sombir, who has to his credit Hind Kesari and Bharat Kesari titles, clinched the famous International Roun-Domail Kesari Dangal title in its 48th edition that took place at Roun Domail in district Udhampur.
For the title bout, Sombir defeated Goga of Georgia in front of a big crowd of around 25,000 wrestling lovers. Besides Georgia, wrestlers from another foreign nation of Iran contested for the top honour. However, prominent Indian wrestlers dominated and excelled in the top bouts.
Dangal was organised by the Thill Roun-Domail Dangal Committee in collaboration with J&K Indian Style Wrestling Association under the overall supervision of Om Parkash Verma and Rajinder Singh Ranyal.
Dronacharya Awardee and Secretary General of the Indian Style Wrestling Association of India, Roshan Lal was the chief guest.
Former Joint Secretary of J&K State Sports Council, Shiv Kumar Sharma, who is also Treasurer Indian Style Wrestling Association of India, presided over the function. Former Member Legislative Assembly (MLA), Balwant Singh Mankotia was the guest of honour.
Earlier, six top wrestlers contested for the three main bouts and were awarded with handsome cash prizes. While Sombir, who defeated Georgian Goga, presented with a cash award of Rs 60,000. Runners-up, Goga received Rs 40,000. Similarly, in another first bout, winners Hathi of Iran got Rs 60,000 and runners-up, Benia Min of J&K Police presented with Rs 40,000.
In yet another first bout, Abdul Gani of Mallerkotla in Punjab held Umesh of Mathura in Uttar Pradesh to a draw resulting into both shared Rs one lakh prize money.
In all, 41 bouts took part in this dangal and cash prizes worth Rs 6,50,000 given away to the competing wrestlers.
In second main bout, Kapil of Delhi defeated David of Iran while Ajay Sharma of Udhampur beat Naddo of Georgia in the third bout. The fourth main bout went to Sumit of Mathura (UP) who defeated Nisar of Doda ( J&K Police). The prize money for second, third and fourth bout was Rs 51,000, Rs 41,000 and Rs 31,000 respectively.
Meanwhile, Wrestler Yudhvir of Bahadurgarh in Haryana was declared as the best Wrestler of the Dangal. He was presented five kilograms Desi Ghee and cash prize of Rs 1100 by Om Parkash Verma and Ravinder Singh Ranyal (Sonu).