Singh CC sails into quarter finals

Winning team posing for a group photograph at Akhnoor.
Winning team posing for a group photograph at Akhnoor.

Excelsior Sports Correspondent
JAMMU, Dec 27: Singh Cricket Club (Singh CC) defeated Krishna Cricket Club (Krishna CC) by four wickets and entered into quarter finals round of Shaheed Lieutenant Thakur Dass Memorial Cricket Tournament, being played at Govt Higher Secondary School Akhnoor, here today.
Krishna CC won the toss and decided to bat first. Batting first, the Krishna CC scored 179 runs by losing seven wickets in stipulated 20 overs. Vinod scored highest 69 runs, while Pardeep and Anil contributed 41 and 17 runs respectively. From bowling side, Sunny got three wickets, whereas Binny Kesar grabbed two wickets.
In reply, the Singh CC Akhnoor chased the target easily by losing only six wickets. Chandan Sharma made highest score 65 runs while Manik Sharma and JV Singh contributed 42 and 19 runs respectively. From bowling side, Pardeep Singh got two wickets while Anil, Danny, Yogesh and Morris got one wicket each for their team. Chandan Sharma of Singh CC was awarded with man of match award while Dayal Singh & Vikas Bali were umpires and Rohit & Arjun acted as scorers.
The tournament is being organized by Akhnoor Sports Club under the overall supervision of Kr SS Langeh (Gen Secy District Jammu JKCA).