Singh CC beats Akhnoor CC by 2 wickets

Winning team posing for group photograph at Akhnoor on Thursday.
Winning team posing for group photograph at Akhnoor on Thursday.

Pitamber Lal Sharma Memorial Cricket Tourney

Excelsior Sports Correspondent
JAMMU, July 1: Singh Cricket Club defeated Akhnoor Cricket Club by two wickets and entered in the finals of the ongoing First Pitamber Lal Sharma Memorial Cricket Tournament, being played at Government Higher Secondary School Akhnoor, here today.
Akhnoor CC won the toss and decided to bat first. Batting first, Akhnoor CC scored 104 with the loss of all wickets in 16.5 overs wherein Koushal Sharma made highest 29 runs whereas Rahul Langer made 21 runs and Pardeep Singh contributed 14 runs. From bowling side, Binny Kesar and Sumit Pandit shared four wickets each, whereas SS Langeh and Sunil Bendy clinched one wicket each.
In reply, the Singh CC chased the target in 15.5 overs by losing only eight wickets with the outstanding batting of Nittin Verma who made 32 runs, while Rahul Manni scored 17 runs and Sumit Rajput and Abhi Verma contributed 15 and 14 runs respectively. From bowling side, Rahul Sharma, Koushal Sharma, Nishant Singh and Rahul Kumar shared one wicket each and Parveen Sharma and Deepak Sharma bagged two wickets each.
Binny Kesar was declared as man of the match. Vikas Bali and Manav Mehta were umpires and Dev Bhagel acted as scorer.
It is pertinent to mention here that the tournament is being organized by Singh Cricket Club Akhnoor under the overall supervision of Kr Sham Singh Langeh (General Secretary JKCA District Jammu)