Pranav guides Surya Risers to 5-wkt win in JKCPL

Excelsior Sports Correspondent

SRINAGAR, July 16: Youngster Pranav Gupta played a brilliant innings of 66 runs to help Surya Risers trounce formidable side of Kanwal Tigers by 5 wickets in the ongoing Big-GK Jammu and Kashmir Corporate Premier League (JKCPL) at Bijbehara, today.
Earlier, winning the toss and electing to bat first, Kanwal Tigers scored a fighting total of 167 runs in the stipulated 20 overs, losing 6 wickets in the process. Mir Imran top scored with 40 off 16 balls, studded with 5 boundaries and 2 sixes, while Rocky Ratta contributed 22-ball 38 runs including 4 sixes and 2 fours. Aamir Sofi and Obaid Lone chipped in with 30 and 29 runs respectively. Nitin Mehra was the pick of the bowlers who claimed 2 wickets, while Pranav Gupta, Rompy Sharma and Abhishek Salathia claimed one wicket each.
In reply, Surya Risers powered by a superb knock of unbeaten 66 runs off 60 balls (9×4) by Pranav Gupta chased the target in 18.4 overs by losing 5 wickets to win the match by 5 wickets. Vikas contributed quick-fire 34 runs off 13 balls, which included 2 fours and 4 sixes. Nitin Mehra also scored brisk 31 runs in 11 balls, studded with 3 boundaries and one six, while Rompy Sharma contributed 20 runs to the total. Rocky Ratta and Ishfaq bagged 2 wickets each for Kanwal Tigers. Pranav Gupta was adjudged HDFC man of the match, while Vikas got TCI maximum sixes’ award.
Meanwhile, in another match at Kashmir University Grounds, Saifco Lions defeated Cemtac Stars by 37 runs.
Batting first, Saifco Lions scored 138 runs in the stipulated 20 overs for the loss of 6 wickets. Mehraj-ud-Din and Puneet Bist contributed 33 and 26 runs to the total. For Cemtac Stars, Mehraj and Momin claimed 2 wickets each.
Cemtac Stars, in reply bundled out for 101 runs in 17.4 overs. Imtiyaz Malla was the top scorer with 35 runs. For Saifco, speedster Rohit Sharma and Ajaz Dar scalped 3 wickets each, while Bandeep Singh took 2 wickets. Rohit Sharma was declared HDFC man of the match.