Police holds ‘Run for Unity’

Participants of ‘Run for Unity’ at Jammu on Tuesday.
Participants of ‘Run for Unity’ at Jammu on Tuesday.

Excelsior Sports Correspondent
JAMMU, Oct 26: Jammu Police organised ‘Run for Unity’ at Bahu Plaza, here today to give salutation to Police martyrs who have sacrificed their lives for the motherland.
Around 250 enthusiasts participated in the event in different age categories. The rally started from Bahu Plaza which was flagged off by Mukesh Singh, ADGP Jammu Zone in presence of Chandan Kohli, SSP Jammu and Dr Koushal Sharma, SSP Traffic Jammu and awarded prizes to winners.
Ramneesh Gupta, SP Hqrs Jammu, Deepak Digra, SP South Jammu, Sajad Sarwar, SDPO City East Jammu and Deepak Pathania SHO PS Bahu Fort were also present during the event. The rally was held in four different age categories including females, below 20 years, age between 20-50 years and above 50 years.
Jammu Police organised the event in collaboration with Banyan International School in which Vicky Mahajan MD Banyan International School and Principal Rajesh Kumar played a key role. Sanyog Katoch also helped in organising the event. The students of Banyan International School performed cultural items before starting the rally thus adding enthusiasm among the participants.
The route of the rally for the first two age categories was Central Park Bahu Plaza- General Zorawar Singh Chowk, Valmiki Chowk, Panama Chowk, PHQ Chowk-Bikram Chowk and then back to Bahu Plaza through the same route, while the route for the other age categories i.e. between 20-50 years. and above 50 years was also from Central Park, Bahu Plaza- Gen. Zorawar Singh Chowk, Valmiki Chowk-Panama Chowk-PHQ Chowk-Bikram Chowk-Asia Crossing-Green Belt route and back to Bahu Plaza via Valmiki Chowk.
The event was sponsored by Anil Communications, IW-99, Anytime Fitness Gym and Wadhera Sounds.
Around 150 medals were distributed among the participants of all the categories and special prizes were awarded to the first three winners in each category.
In age 50 above, three awards went to Mukesh Singh (ADGP Jammu), Surinder Choudhary (SP) & Naresh Kumar (DySP), while in below 20 years, the winners were Sunil Kumar, Karan Singh and Raghav Sharma and between 20-50 years, Ashwani Kant, Ram Raj and Rajesh Kumar were among winners besides in female category, the winners were Mandeep Kour, Seerat Jasrotia & Shabnam.