Open District Speedball C’ship concludes

A winner being awarded with trophy by former Minister Surjeet Singh Slathia at Samba on Friday.
A winner being awarded with trophy by former Minister Surjeet Singh Slathia at Samba on Friday.

Excelsior Sports Correspondent
SAMBA, Oct 7: A Daylong Speedball Championship, organised by J&K Sports Speedball, concluded at Sports Stadium, here today.
About 300 players from various schools of different districts (Samba, Kathua and Jammu) participated in this championship, wherein former Minister and senior BJP leader, Surjeet Singh Slathia was the chief guest, while Pooja Malhotra (Founder patron JKSSB) was the presiding guest in presence of Tara Mani Sharma (ARTO Samba) Rajesh Rathore (President Sahodya) Pushpinder Singh Charak (BJP leader), Sunny Nanda (General secretary JKSSB) and Rohit Kumar (Junior Assistant RTO Samba).
The chief guest distributed medals and certificates among the winners and also appreciated the efforts of the Association for organizing such a marvellous championship. The chief guest expressed happiness over large-scale participation of youth in sports, saying this is imperative for maintaining physical fitness and keeping the mind agile.
“Sky is the limit for youth to excel, be it sports or academics”, Slathia said. He also lauded the Jammu and Kashmir youth for vehemently participating in almost all the games played at national and international levels. “It is not just their participation but bringing laurels to their institutions in general and J&K in particular,” he added.
Humanity Public School bagged the winner trophy within District Samba, while runner-up trophy went to Rich Harvest School. In addition, the winner trophy of District Kathua went to Delhi Public School Kathua and runner up trophy went to Jammu Sanskriti Kathua.
The matches were officiated by Renu Devi, Mridu Gupta, Ankit Sharma, Suryansh and Prakash. All the medal winners will be selected for the State Speedball Championship, scheduled to be held in the month of November -2022.
The championship was hosted by Sahil Janjua (chief coach), while the vote of thanks was presented by Pooja Malhotra.
The Gold medal winners were Naksh Sharma(DPS), Kartik Kumar (KPS), Hitashi Pathania (DPS), Hari Om Sharma (RHS), Paras Attri (HPS), Lavisha Bhagat(Jammu Club), Mohd.Harris (RHS), Aryan Singh (RHS), Srishiti (Jammu Club), Ananya Singh (HPS), Mannat Andotra (DPS), Manayata Sharma (HPS), Aryana Choudhary(DPS), Koushiki Charak (RHS), Ankush (HPS), Manvi Chauhan (DPS), Fiza Choudhary (RHS), Priksham (Club), Pratyaksh Sharma (RHS), Shauryveer Singh (RHS), Uttarkash Dev Singh (RHS), Pranab Kumar (HPS), Eklavya (RHS), Daksh Rasotra (KPS), Paras Badwal (Kathua Club), Ashmeet Singh (KPS), Namandeep Singh (JSS), Affaq Butt (DAV),Vinayak (Jammu Club), Arbab Butt (DAV), Archit Ratra (RHS), Somdev Pandey (HPS), Saksham (JSS), Prince(Jammu Club) and Lavya Mahajan (JSS).