Munna XI wins Khara Cricket Tournament title

Excelsior Sports Correspondent
JAMMU, June 2: Munna Cricket Club-XI won the final match of Khara Cricket Tournament by beating Rafique Chabba XI in super over.
Youth Congress leader from Inderwal, Sharik Ahmed Saroori was the chief guest on the occasion.
Ghulam Nabi Butt and Asgar Hussain Khangi, Congress Block president Thathri were the guests of honour. Ahmed Sehzad, Shameem Wani, Tanveer Wani, Hilal Ahmed were also present on the occasion.
Earlier, in the final match of the Tournament played at Khara Sports Stadium, Munna XI thrashed Rafique Chabba XI in a super over after Munna XI set a target of 15 runs in one over and Rafique Chabba XI could manage only 5 runs.
Due to bad weather the match was reduced to 15 over’s. Munna Cricket Club-XI won the toss and elected to bowl first. While batting Rafique Chabba XI set 129 runs target for Munna XI in 15 over’s. Chasing the target Munna XI could manage only 128 in 13.4 over’s and the match ended in a draw.
For Munna XI, Babar Hussain top scored with 53 runs off 37 balls with 3 fours and 5 sixes, Tariq Ahmed Butt was the pick of the bowlers who bagged 3 important wickets for 19 runs in his 3 overs, while Suhail & Tanvir took 2 wickets each.
57 teams drawn from Erstwhile Doda district and adjoining areas took part in the tournament organized by Khara Cricket Committee, under the supervision of the organizing committee including Jaffar Butt and Zubair Ahmed Paray.
Speaking on the occasion, the chief guest Sharik Saroori said losing or winning of a game is immaterial but participating as worthy sports persons, performing with best capacity and maintaining quality of conduct while playing is counted a lot at the end of the day. He announced a cricket kit for Khara Cricket club and distributed Rs 12, 500 to the winning team and Rs 10,000 to the runner up team.
Saroori, Ghulam Nabi Butt and Asgar Khangi also presented trophies to man of the series, Sajjad Hussain of Munna XI who scored 217 runs and took 14 wickets in the tournament. Babar Hussain bagged man of the match trophy for his brilliant knock of 53 runs.
The match was officiated by Rameez Raja and Shafqat Hussain. The proceedings of the programme were conducted by Jaffar Hussain, Sajjad Hussain Paray and Ghulam Nabi, convener technical committee.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here