KV Gandhi Nagar, UPHSS lift District Kabaddi titles

Excelsior Sports Correspondent

Winners of Kabaddi titles posing for a group photograph along with dignitaries on Tuesday.
Winners of Kabaddi titles posing for a group photograph along with dignitaries on Tuesday.

JAMMU, June 5: Unique Public Higher Secondary School (UPHSS) Gadi Garh and Kendriya Vidalaya (KV) No 1 Gandhi Nagar scripted wins over their rivals in the finals and lifted the Boys and Girls titles of District Kabaddi Championship respectively at Unique Public HS School ground, here.
The tournament in which 30 teams drawn from Jammu district and adjoining areas participated, was organized by Jammu District Kabaddi Association, under the auspices of J&K Amateur Kabaddi Association and under the supervision of its General Secretary, Kuldeep Kumar Gupta.
Earlier, in the boys final, UPHSS Gadi Garh defeated Kalaish Niketan School in a thriller by one point (17-16) to clinch the trophy, while in girls final, KV No 1 Gandhi Nagar drubbed Army Public School Akhnoor in an easy contest by 13 points (17-4) to lift the title.
Meanwhile, Paramvir Singh of Unique Public School and Priya Uphdya of KV No 1 Gandhi Nagar were adjudged best players of the tournmanet. Sunny of Kailash Niketan Pouni Chak and Pawandeep Kour of Stephen International School, Jammu were declared best raiders in boys and girls section respectively. The best catcher award was bagged by Harmandeep Singh of Unique Public School in boys section and Pratibha Takotra in girls section.
AK Angral, General Manager BSNL Jammu Circle was the chief guest on the valedictory function, while Nicodemes, Jasbir Singh, Ram Sarup Gupta, Om Prakash Mahajan, BS Tirthi, Surinder Mohan Gupta, Anil Modi and Dinesh Gupta were present on the occasion.
The chief guest later-on gave away prizes to the winners and runners-up teams on the occasion.
The matches were officiated by Ajay Gupta, Anil Sharma, Ankush Gupta, Dheeraj Jamwal, Harbans Singh, Tarandeep Singh, Harpreet Singh, Ajay Mehra, Amrik Singh, Rasvinder Singh, Arvinder Singh, Manmeet Singh, Keshav Singh, Sunny Kumar, Rocky Sharma, Amar Singh, Vikas Sharma, Vandhana Sharma, Poonam Jamwal, Mamta Devi, Anuradha, Neha Badacoah and Raspreet Kaur.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here