Kalhan wins .177 Air Pistol sub junior boys gold

Excelsior Sports Correspondent

Medal winners of Jammu district shooting championship posing for a group photograph alongwith Minister for Sports R S Chib on Thursday.

JAMMU, Sept 13: Kalhan Bhat of Delhi Public School (DPS) Jammu bagged gold in .177 Air Pistol sub junior boys, while Harvinderpal Singh and Aranya Sahni claimed silver and bronze medals in this event respectively in the Jammu District Shooting championship 2012, which concluded here today.
Minister for Medical Education, Technical Education and Youth Services and Sports, RS Chib was the chief guest on the occasion, who presented medals to the winners.
IGP Jammu, Dilbag Singh, who is also working president was the guest of honour.
Speaking on the occasion, the chief guest RS Chib lauded the organizers for holding the event and promoting one of the top priority games in the country. He said that the State Government led by the Chief Minister Omar Abdullah is keen to promote sports in nooks and corners of the State, adding that the Government has already initiated the development of standard sports infrastructure in the State.
Lauding Indian Shooters for making their presence globally felt, Sports Minister, R S Chib today stressed the need for requisitioning best available coaches for promoting this sport in Jammu and Kashmir as well.
“We will provide all assistance to promising sportsperson”, he said amid applause from over 40 students from various parts of the country, who participated in the activity at Shooting Range Jammu.
Chib also expressed gratitude to Union Sports Minister and Chief Minister Omar Abdullah for their deep interest and support in helping new dimensions to State’s sports profile. He appealed the youth especially students to participate in their respective games and they will be ensured every support from the sports department.
Welcome address was delivered by Principal Delhi Public School, Jammu Sudershan Sonar, while former Deputy Mayor JMC Dharamvir Singh who happens to be the  general secretary of Jammu District Rifle Association presented vote of thanks.
Prominent among those present on the occasion were secretary cum treasurer Jammu District Rifle Association Sudhir Kumar, senior vice president KS Jamwal, District Jammu Rifle Association president Sanam Soni, Executive member JKRA Pankaj Sharma, Joint Secretary Sharat Chander Singh and Suminder Singh.
The tournament was organised by the Jammu District Rifle Association in collaboration with Delhi Public School Jammu where in around 40 shooters from different institutions of Jammu district participated.
Rajesh Virdhy a qualified coach from National Rifle Association of India (NRAI) presently serving in J&K Police Department was the chief judge of the tournament, who was assisted by Vijay Kumar, Ravinder Singh and Ajay Singh as judges.
The detailed Results:
Youth: Tajeswi Singh (DPS Jammu) gold, Shanker Gupta Tiny Tots School silver and Sangram Singh DPS Jammu) silver while Abhay Gupta DPS Jammu , bronze.
Junior: Manish Kumar (gold), Harshdeep Singh DPS Jammu (silver) and Vibhas Gupta MIET Jammu, (bronze).
Senior : Vinod Gupta (Vijaypur) gold, Parveen Kumar (silver) and Ajay Kumar (bronze).
.177 Air Rifle ( boys): Ranjit Chopra (gold) and Partap Singh (KVS Sunjawan), silver.
.177 Air Rifle (girls): Palak (KVS Sunjawan) and Roshni (BSF Paloura).
Consolation prizes to upcoming shooters, Naman Singh, DPS Jammu and Ravinav Singh (KC Public School).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here