JU employees tournament-2023 commences

Participating players during the carrom tournament at University of Jammu on Monday.
Participating players during the carrom tournament at University of Jammu on Monday.

Excelsior Sports Correspondent

JAMMU, May 15: The Jammu University employees tournaments for men and women commenced today at University Campus, here in Table-Tennis, Carrom, Cricket (Men), Chess and Badminton.
The tournament is being organized by the Campus Sports Committee of the University of Jammu.
Dr. Daud Iqbal Baba, chairman of Campus Sports Committee inaugurated the inter-departmental tournaments and interacted with the players of various departments participating in different disciplines.
The following competitions were held at the Gymnasium Hall and Cricket Ground of the Directorate of Sports & Physical Education, University of Jammu:
Cricket (Men): Team-B beat team-D by 41 runs and Team-C trounced Team E by 1 wicket.
In Badminton (Men):  Er. Raman Gupta defeated Dr. Padam Dev Singh by (21-16) points, Dr. Mandeep Singh trounced Sourav Chalotra by (21-12) points, Pankaj Gupta beat Harinderpal Singh by (21-11) points, Tarsem Singh defeated Sumeet Kapoor by (21-17) points, Vishal Sharma defeated Sunil Kumar by (21-05) points, Gursharan Singh trounced Sham Lal by (21-05) points, Dimple Sharma beat Karan Singh by (21-06) points, Manu Puri beat Balbir Singh by (21-1-) points, Abhimanyu Sharma defeated Nikhil Sharma by (21-16) points and Suresh Tack beat Vishal Sharma by (21-16) points.
In Badminton (Women): Pooja Manhas beat Dr. Kusam Sharma by(21-17) points, Sonika Sharma trounced Seema Rathore by (21-11) points and Komal Bakshi defeated Ms. Pankaj Bazaz by (21-15) points.
In Carrom (Men): Tinku Sharma beat Jagdev Sharma, Joginder Singh defeated Dr. Rakesh Chib, Arjun Singh trounced Pankaj Gupta, Vishal Sharma defeated Sunil Kumar, Balwant Singh beat Prof. Susheel Sharma, Vishal Sudan defeated Sumeet Kapoor, Er. Rajesh Kumar defeated Gagandeep Singh and Tinku Sharma beatGurmeet Singh.
In Carrom (Women):  Sunita Sharma beat Azmat Choudhary, Azmat Choudhary defeated Komal Bakshi, Pooja Manhas trounced Sonika Sharma, Pooja Manhas beat Dr. Samita Wathera, Sunny Bhat defeated Dr. Meghna Dhar, Rinkey Bazaz beat Seema Rathore and Rinkey Bazaz trounced Sunny Bhat.
The matches were officiated by Raj Kumar Bakshi, Ravish Vaid, Vikas Karlopia, Gagan Kumar, Jai Bharat, Padam Dev Singh and Ashok Singh Bali.