Divya Wazir wins Women’s Lead Climbing title

Excelsior Sports Correspondent
JAMMU, Sept 12: Divya Wazir of Govt College for Women, Parade, Jammu won the Women’s Lead climbing title of the 18th J&K State Sport Climbing Championship which started here today at Sprawling Buds IESC School, Luxmi Puram, here.
The second and third positions were bagged by Sumerhera of the same college and Kajal Sharma of Govt College for Women, Gandhi Nagar, Jammu.
Similarly in the Girls category in which only 8 climbers participated, Mahi Devi and Natasha Bali of Govt. Hr. Sec. School, Domana and Sweety of Shining Star High School, Muthi secured the first three positions respectively.
In the boys category in which 42 climbers participated, 9 climbers led by Mandeep Singh of St. Xavier Convent Sr. Sec. School, Barnai have reached the final round. Similarly, Sukriti Kumari of Shining Star High School, Muthi, Jammu led a pack of 8 climbers in the final round of the Sub Junior girls category.
Sub Junior Girls: 1. Sukriti Kumari 2. Bhumi Anthal 3. Shagun Anthal 4. Namrita Singh 5. Sneha 6. Ashita. 7. Nitika 8. Suyeasha.
Mini Girls: 1. Anshika 2. Shivali Thakur 3. Sargam Mahajan 4. Khushi Mehra 5. Krishna Bamotra 6. Niharika Raj 7. Tanisha Rakwal 8. Suhani Bhagat 9. Sharuti Sharma 10. Aditi 11. Deepali 12. Suniya.
Mini Boys: 1. Harsh Pir 2. Ritik Khanetra 3. Keshvam Dev Singh 4. Md Asrar Ul Meraj.
5. Vaibhav Thakur 6. Mohd Abbas 7. Atul Sharma 8. Anurag Bhagat.
Sub Junior Boys: 1 Ajay Kumar 2. Atul Sharma 3. Akshay Kumar 4. Ranveer Thakur 5. Rahul Sharma 6. Sahil Kumar 7. Manav Bhardwaj 8. Gaurav Bhagat.
Boys: 1. Mandeep Singh 2. Jeevan 3. Akhil Verma 4. Deeraj 5. Rinku Sharma 6. Summanyu 7. Dhruv Salotra 8. Arun Kumar 9. Shubam.
Finals in all categories of Lead Climbing and Speed climbing will be organized tomorrow.
Earlier, the championship was declared open by Ashwani Sharma, former MLA in the presence of S. Bhattacharjee, Chairman, Indian Mountaineering Foundation, North Zone Committee, New Delhi, Ram Khajuria, General Secretary, Mountaineering Association of J&K and Rahul Sharma, Chairman, Sprawling Buds ICSE School.
While addressing the distinguished gathering the chief guest Ashwani Sharma lauded the role of Mountaineering Association of J&K for the promotion of adventure activities in J&K.
He congratulated the climbers for the inclusion of Sport climbing in the next Olympics at Tokyo in 2020 and hoped that a J&K climber would find a place in the Indian team for the Olympics.
Prominent among others present on the occasion included Vice President Yogeshwar Kumar, Joint Secretary, Shawetica Khajuria, Principal of Apple Kids School Arti Sharma Shashi Kant Sharma, Sakshi Magotra, Shivani Charak, Ajay Deep Singh, Arun Deep Singh, Mrityunjay Sharma, Sourav Deep Singh, all prominent climbers and technical officials from IMF North Zone Committee, New Delhi.
The championship is being organized by Mountaineering Association of J&K and sponsored by J&K State Sports Council.