Distt Wrestling C’ship organised

Winners posing for a group photograph at Kathua on Sunday.
Winners posing for a group photograph at Kathua on Sunday.

Excelsior Sports Correspondent
KATHUA, Dec 4: District Kathua Wrestling Championship was organized by District Association at Auditorium Hall of Govt Degree College under the auspices of Wrestling Association of J&K, Wrestling Federation of India, J&K Sports Council and J&K Olympic Association in collaboration with Department of Physical Education of the host College, here today.
For implementation of the new rules of United World Wrestling (UWW), three prominent wrestlers/technical officials including Roshan Sharma, Samsher Singh and Ranjeet Singh were especially deputed by the Wrestling Association for spreading awareness of new rules of wrestling among budding wrestlers in the district.
A total of 75 wrestlers both in men and women in different weight categories from the district took part in the day long championship.
Sunil Kumar (DYSSO Kathua), Romesh Sharma, Gulzar Ahmed, Ranjit Singh Pathania, Shabbir Ahmed, Naresh Sharma, Sandeep Sharma, Mukesh Sharma, Pankaj Spolia, Pushp Thakur, Punjab Singh and Hazara Singh were present during the event.
In men’s section (57kg), Talib Hussain -Gold, Barsh Ali-Silver and Murad Ali & Tikku-Bronze medal, while in 61kg, Shamon-Gold, Mohd Iqbal-Silver and Hariveer Singh & Farooq Ahmed-Bronze, in 65kg: Saleem -Gold, Mohd Fareed-Silver and Surya Dev and Neef Ali-Bronze, in 70kg: Saleem-Gold, Sharif Ali-Silver and Dilshan & Bagh Hussain-Bronze, in 74kg: Gourav-Gold, Neef Ali-Silver and Haider & Jaffar Hussain-Bronze, in 79kg: Mukhtar Ali-Gold, Shah Mansoor-Silver and Mustaq Alu-Bronze, in 86kg: Hasham Din-Gold, Maskeen Ali-Silver and Tarun Sharma and Yogeshwar Singh-Bronze.
In 92kg: Gafoor Jacoob Ali-Gold, Shabi Hussain-Silver and in 125kg: Aryan Singh Choudhary-Gold, Mannat Sharma-Silver medal.
In women’s 50kg: Jimmo Devi-Gold, Monika Kumari-Silver and Palvi Thakur-Bronze and in 68kg: Palvi Devi-Gold, Neharika Sharma won Silver medal.