District Jammu lifts Handball C’ship title, Badminton Competition begins

Khelo India Scheme

Excelsior Sports Correspondent
JAMMU, Nov 1: District Jammu lifted the J&K State Handball Championship title, while J&K State Badminton Competition commenced, here today. Both the competitions were organized under Khelo India Scheme.
JAMMU: J&K State Handball Championship for U-17 boys concluded today at MA Stadium. The championship was organized by Jammu and Kashmir Handball Association in collaboration with J&K State Sports Council.
On the occasion, Sunaina Sharma Secretary Jammu Municipal Corporation was the chief guest, who gave away the winners and runners-up trophies and also other individual prizes. Nariender Mahajan Vice President Handball Federation of India was the guest of honour.
Earlier, General Secretary of the J&K Handball Association Ashwani Kumar Raina presented the welcome address.
Among others present were Dr SM Bali CEO Handball Federation of India, Ranjeet Chib, Selector Handball Federation of India and Former Indian Captain, Sandeep Verma PRO Handball Federation of India, Sanjeev Jamwal Executive Member J&K Handball Association, Ravi Singh Divisional Sports Officer J&K State Sports Council, Ashraf Parray Joint Secretary J&K Handball Asssociation, Nissar Ahmed Joint Secretary Kashmir Division, J&K Handball Association, Ravi Singh General Secretary Udhampur Handball Association and Saurav Sharma Secretary Poonch Handball Association.
In the final match, District Jammu defeated District Baramulla by 20-14. The third position was clinched by District Udhampur.
The match was officiated by Happy Mehra, Yusuf, Anuj Langer, Sahil Padha and Tariq Ahmed.
Meanwhile, J&K State Badminton Competition, being organized by J&K Badminton Association in collaboration with J&K State Sports Council commenced in Badminton Hall of Indoor Sports Complex, MA Stadium, here.
The competition was inaugurated by MLA Jammu East Rajesh Gupta. He also inaugurated the newly laid down synthetic badminton court mats.
Around 150 players and technical officials from different parts of the State are participating in this three day long competition.
On the occasion, Dr OD Sharma, Chairman, JKBA, Ravi Singh, Divisional Sports Officer J&K State Sports Council, Satish Gupta, Manager Indoor Complex, Balbir Jamwal, General Secretary JKBA, Fayaz Ahmed Joint Secretary JKBA, SAI Coaches Sat Pal Sharma and Vikram Saini, Gopal Gupta, Raj Kumar Corporator, a large number of players, technical officials and sports lovers were also present.
In U-14 Boys Singles (Round-1), Tarun Kumar lost to Himanshu Charak, Yashasvi Dubay beat Jatin Kumar, Kashish Yadav lost to Hazik, Khalid lost to Utkarsh Verma, Saparsh Katoch lost to Bhavdeep, Shivam Gupta beat Shivansh Panotra, Ayush Mehra beat Danish Baloria, Visbhav Mehta beat Karishna Augustya, Susham Gujral beat Arav Sharma, Nabhay Vermani beat Bhanupartap Singh, Priyansh Raina lost to Kulbandhu Sharma, Priyatam Singh beat Kevin, Abhijeet Jasrotia beat Saramaya Sharma, Tikshan Gupta beat Swayam Sharma, Jaskaran Singh lost to Vansh Falswal, Madhav Mahajan lost to Rydhyam Verma, Udhyan Sharma beat Umar Shah, Dhruv Kartik beat Ateeq-ur-Rehman, Divaynsh Sharma lost to Aiyush Thakur, Adhvik Misri lost to Ojas Suri, Vansh Mahajan lost to Aman Mir, Ubair lost to Sanyam, Sant Singh beat Tajamil Islam, Sukhmeet Singh lost to Dhairya Arora and Akul lost to Sarthak.
In U-14 Girls Singles (Round-1), Akriti Thakur beat Arshdeep Kour, Kanya Singh Jamwal lost to Amoulya Jandiyal and Jiya Vasudeva defeated Sanvi Gupta.
SAMBA: Exhilarating matches among the teams of block Ghagwal and Rajpura were played in Athletics at Government Girls High School, Ghagwal, here.
On the occasion, DySP Ravinder Kotwal was the chief guest.
Athletics: In U-17 category, Vishal Sharma, Nitin Chowdhary and Sourav Kumar, in U-20 category, Mukesh Kumar, Vivek Sharma and Shekhar and in above 20 category, Vipan Singh, Rakesh Charak and Jagmohan Singh bagged first, second and third positions respectively.
Discuss Throw: In U-17, Abhay Kumar, Abhishek Sharma and Chetan Sharma grabbed 1st, 2nd and consolation position, respectively. In U-20 and above 20 categories, Vinod Chowdhary and Sorab Singh emerged winners.
In track event (100 m race U-17), Naresh Sharma, Abhishek Badyal and Rohan Sharma bagged 1st, 2nd and 3rd positions respectively. In U-20, Shubam Kumar, Amit Sharma and Naresh Kumar grabbed 1st, 2nd and 3rd positions respectively. In above 20 category, Varnishwar Singh, Sahil Sharma and Sahil Singh emerged 1st, 2nd and 3rd respectively.
In track event (200 m race U-17), Devyan Chowdhary, Keshav Sharma and Sahil grabbed 1st, 2nd and 3rd positions respectively. In U-20 category, Sahil Sharma, Gourav Singh and Anmol Sharma emerged 1st, 2nd and 3rd respectively. In above 20 category, Vishal Pangotra, Gopal Dass and Randhir Kumar stood first, second and third respectively.
In Shot-put (U-17), Riaz Ahmed, Suresh Sharma and Neeraj Tagotra, in U-20, Gopal Sharma, Salav Singh and Mukesh Sharma and in above 20, Abhishek Billowria, Bhanu Partap and Krishan Kumar ranked 1st, 2nd and 3rd respectively.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here