DGP inaugurates Police Martyrs Memorial Cricket Tourney

 DGP Dilbag Singh posing for a group photograph with team players and other dignitaries at Kathua.
 DGP Dilbag Singh posing for a group photograph with team players and other dignitaries at Kathua.

Excelsior Sports Correspondent
KATHUA, Dec 19: Director General of Police (DGP), Dilbag Singh declared open 10th edition of Police Martyrs Memorial Cricket Tournament at Sports Stadium, here today.
The DGP inaugurated the cricket tournament in presence of ADGP Jammu, Mukesh Singh, DC Kathua Dr Rahul Yadav, SSP Kathua RC Kotwal, Kathua Municipality Chairman, Naresh Sharma, Principal Police Training School Kathua, Roop Lal Bhagat, Commandant IRP 19th Bn Benam Tosh and members of the Shaheed Welfare Committee Kathua.
While speaking on the occasion, the DGP said that organizing such programmes always boosts the morale for performing our duties with more zeal and zest and with more responsibilities. “The people of Kathua district have always overwhelmingly supported every sports activity held here be it the cricket tournaments or marathon run,” he said.
He also appreciated the role of the Shaheed Welfare Committee Kathua and sponsors of the tournament for organizing such types of events.
The ADGP Jammu in his address said that the relation of Police and public is very strong in Kathua district and the people of Kathua have always supported J&K Police endeavours in organizing sports events.
Earlier, SSP Kathua RC Kotwal in his welcome address briefed chronology of the tournament since its beginning in the year 2010. He informed that this year the tournament will be telecast live on a local channel and a third umpire review system is enabled in this edition, whereas chairman of the organizing committee, Ravinder Singh Salathia presented the vote of thanks.
During the tournament nearly 24 league matches will be played. The participating teams have been divided into four groups including Group-A teams include JK Police, LB Shastri Delhi, Lifecare Lucknow and Kathua District CA, while in Group B teams include Sabi CC Hoshiarpur, Kathua Knight Riders, Vicky XI Pathankot and Game Changers Jammu and in Group-C teams include Champions CA Chandigarh, Balaji CC Kurukshetra, Jalandhar Sports Club and Krishnam XI Amritsar, besides in Group-D teams include U P Tigers, GSI Kashmir, Haryana CA and SPJ Gurgaon.
The tournament winner will be rewarded with trophy and cash prize of Rs 3.50 lakh, while the runner up team will receive trophy and cash prize of Rs 2.50 lakh and the man of the series will be awarded with a Maruti Alto 800 car.