Children’s Science Congress begins at Jodhamal School

Dignitaries during Children's Science Congress at Jodhamal School.
Dignitaries during Children's Science Congress at Jodhamal School.

Excelsior Sports Correspondent
JAMMU, Dec 1: A 2-day State Level 27th Children’s Science Congress (a program of NCSTC, DST, Delhi) was thrown open at Jodhamal Public School, Jammu by Nandan Kuthiala, Trustee of the School in presence of Dr Deep Khare, Principal Shefali Sanwal, Vice Principal BD Sharma, Dy. Chief Education Officer, Samba and Zaffar Ullah Khan, State Coordinator-NCSC, J&K.
In his inaugural address, Mr Kuthiala, stressed on the importance of science and technology in this modern age, adding that such programmes can increase the interest of the children to think and act scientifically.
He lauded the efforts of Zaffar Ullah Khan, Founder Secretary General, NCURDS, Jammu & State Coordinator NCSC – J&K (Jammu Province) and his team for organizing such a wonderful programme in the interest of students & teacher community.
Dr Deep Khare in his address said that there is a dire need to take science from traditional classroom to the society in order to apply science and technology for the benefit of society.
Earlier, Kuldeep Gupta, State Academic Coordinator, NCSC-J&K (J) presented welcome address.
Dr Ashaq Hussain, Chairman organizing committee gave brief introduction of the programme of NCSC tips regarding guidelines/evaluation criteria for presentation of the project in this two days mega event.
A total of 72 selected projects drawn from various schools of the State are being presented by the child scientists in these two days having gathering of about 300 students/guide teachers & coordinator. Out of these 72 projects, 8 best projects from Jammu Province will participate at National Level being organized from 27 to December 31, 2019 at Kerala.
For the selection of 8 best projects, six evaluators drawn from Punjab and Haryana are evaluating the projects and presentation. These evaluators include Dr Sanjeevan Singh Dhadwal, Gurmeet Singh, Rakesh Sharma, Sanjeev Sharma, Sidharth Chander and Naresh Kohli. At the end of inaugural session, district evaluator, mentors and resource persons namely Dr Madhu Sharma, Ajay Sehgal, Arshad Hussain, Satvinder Kour, Rajinder Kumar, Kameshwar Dubey and Kailash Sharma were felicitated with mementos and certificates.