Bali’s unbeaten 91 helps Jammu Sports to win series

Winner posing for a group photograph at Sattowadi Cricket Ground R S Pura.
Winner posing for a group photograph at Sattowadi Cricket Ground R S Pura.

Excelsior Sports Correspondent
JAMMU, Dec 30: Continuing his sublime form with the bat Sunil Bali scored his third straight half-century (91 unbeaten off 68 balls) and powered Jammu Sports Cricket Club to a six wickets win over Sidhra Sports in the final match of the Eid Diwali Milan Cup, played at Sattowali Cricket Ground R S Pura here today.
Earlier, Sidhra Sports led by Skipper Imtiaz Malik won the toss and decided to bat first. Openers Tayyab Farooq (55 runs of 42 balls) and Waseem Mir (9 runs off 23 balls) took advantage of the power play as the duo knitted a quick-fire 53 runs partnership. Sidhra Sports were on track for a big score before an inswinging delivery by Yash Khajuria wrecked opener Waseem Mir’s wickets as the first breakthrough came in the 7th over of the match.
Sidhra Sports batters could not capitalize on the early advantage and the whole team was sent packing on paltry 159 within 23.2 overs. Courtesy some inspired bowling performances by Jammu Sports bowlers. For Sidhra Tayyab Farooq (55 runs) remained the top scorer, followed by Bilal (19 runs). For Jammu Sports, Adil took 3 wickets to remain the pick of the bowlers. Simran and Koushal also took two wickets each, whereas Parveen and Yash shared one wicket apiece.
In reply, Jammu Sports suffered early blows in openers Ashwani (10 runs off) and Skipper Mukesh Sharma were back to the dressing room within 3.1 overs. Came to bat first down Sunil Bali and his accomplice Rajesh Bandral pulled Jammu sports back into the game. The duo’s 73 runs partnership in 59 balls was dominated by Sunil Bali who played some glorious shots and produced 16 boundaries to remain unbeaten until securing a 6 wickets victory for Jammu Sports with 33 balls to spare. Lakhbinder (13 runs) was the other significant contributor for Jammu Sports. For Sidhra Sports, Imtiaz Malik, Usman, Tayyab Farooq and Murtaza shared one wicket apiece.
Later, Sunil Bali was declared as player of the match for outstanding batting.