56th Nat’l Artistic & 25th Rhythmic Gymnastics C’ship gets underway

A Gymnast in action during the Gymnastic Championship at MA Stadium on Wednesday. -Excelsior/Rakesh
A Gymnast in action during the Gymnastic Championship at MA Stadium on Wednesday. -Excelsior/Rakesh

*Winners awarded with medals

Excelsior Sports Correspondent

JAMMU, Nov 24: The winners of the first two days of the ongoing 56th Junior National Artistic and 25th Rhythmic Gymnastics championship-2021 were awarded with medals by dignitaries at MA Stadium, here today.
The Gymnastics championship is being organised by Gymnastic Association of J&K in collaboration with J&K Sports Council under the aegis of Gymnastics Federation of India (GFI) and J&K Olympic Association.
About 600 gymnasts including officials from different States and UTs are participating under the supervision of Technical Director, GS Bawa.
However, the championship has entered into 3rd day wherein different events were covered including Men Artistics Gymnastics Team final in which Uttar Pradesh secured 1st Rank, while Maharashtra attained 2nd , Delhi clinched 3rd Rank and Haryana, Rajasthan and Punjab remained at 4th, 5th and 6th Ranks respectively.
In Men Artistic Gymnastics All Around final, Jatin Kumar Kanojia (Uttar Pradesh) stood 1st, while Aryan Dawande (Maharashtra) bagged 2nd place and Diplesh Lashkari (Uttar Pradesh) bagged 3rd place.
In Women Artistic Gymnastics Team final, West Bengal bagged 1st Rank, Maharashtra-2nd, Delhi-3rd, Punjab-4th, Kerala-5th and Uttar Pradesh stood 6th, whereas in Women Artistic Gymnastics All Around final, Meharin S. Saj (Kerala) clinched 1st position, while Sukhnoor Preet Kaur (Punjab) stood 2nd and Anushka Jana (West Bengal) bagged 3rd place.
Kiran Wattal, vice-president GFI and president GAJK appreciated the performance of the gymnasts for winning medals. The medals were distributed in four sessions wherein first session of Award ceremony was presided over by former Agricultural, GH Mir as chief guest, while Shilpa Gupta- National Gymnastics Award winner and educationists was guest of honour.
In the 2nd session, Kuldeep Khoda (Retd DGP) was the chief guest, while Brig. Anil Gupta (Retd) Administrator/Member JKCA and Naveen Anand MD, M/S Group of Companies were guests of honour, whereas 3rd session was presided over by chief guest Prof Ashok Aima VC Central University Jammu , while Anil Gupta- senior vice-president Chamber of Commerce and Prem Sharma general secretary Pharmacy Association were guest and honour, besides in the 4th session, Kishore Singh Chib-Excise Commissioner Jammu was the chief guest, while Ranjit Singh, Deputy Commissioner Excise Jammu and Vinay Saraf were guests of honour.
All the meritorious gymnasts were awarded medals and a bunch of flowers.