15th Gufran Memorial T20 Cricket Championship commences

DDC Doda, Dr Sagar Doifode while inaugurating Cricket Tournament on Tuesday.

Excelsior Sports Correspondent

DODA, June 11: The District Development Commissioner (DDC) Doda, Dr Sagar Doifode inaugurated the prestigious All India 15th Gufran Memorial T20 Cricket Championship 2019 at Sports Stadium, here today.
The tournament is being organized by Young Star Cricket Club Doda and sponsored by J&K Bank Ltd, Zum Zum Sweets (Kud Wale), Mumtaz Building Material Doda, Hotel Doda Darbar, Green Model Hr Sec School Doda, Shaheen Pub Hr Sec School Doda, Chenab Valley Pub Hr Sec School Doda and with the active support of District Administration and District Police Doda.
The tournament was inaugurated in presence of SSP Doda Mohammad Shabir Malik, ACR Doda Kaisar Ahmed Bhawani, Manager JK Bank Zonal Office Doda Ashwani Gupta, Chairman MC Doda Ved Parkash Gupta, Dy SP DAR Mansoor Ayaz, Councillor MC Doda Asif Jahan Gattu, Shabir Ahmed Ganai, Asif Iqbal Bazdar, Dr Tariq Masood, Block President Congress Committee Bhalla Bhaderwah Javed Lone, Dr Hamid Parray and various officers from Civil and Police Department.
Speaking on the occasion, DDC Doda applauded the efforts of YSCC Doda for conducting such mega events in Doda since last more than 20 years and termed sports as the best mean to positively channelize the energy of youth.
Patron YSCC Doda Manzoor Ahmed Batt presented detailed report of the tournament.
A total of 64 teams including 15 teams from other parts of the country are participating, besides a team each from Nepal and Bangladesh.
The Gufran Tournament is being played on the format of IPL with the objective to promote sports culture in the state and also to provide platform to the cricketers of the state to exhibit their talent.
The inaugural match was played between Agile Cricket Club Jangalwar (ACCJ) Thathri and Violent Cricket Club Latti (VCCL) Udhampur.
Batting first after winning the toss, ACCJ Thathri scored a modest total of 106 runs for the loss of 10 wickets in 18.5 overs. Mubashir Butt was the top scorer with 26 runsm while Mansoor Ahmed contributed 17 runs. From VCCL Udhampur, Aabid Kanth took 3 wickets while Shoiab Mehmood and Atta Mohd shared 2 wickets each.
In reply, VCCL Udhampur chased the target in 13 overs by losing 4 wickets thus won the match by 6 wickets. Ahatsham Malik was the top scorer with 53 runs while Aazim Malik scored 12 runs.
From ACCJ Thathri, Mubashir Butt took 2 wickets while Ankush Rajput and Jahangur Butt shared 1wicket each.
Ahatsham Malik was declared as the man of the match for his brilliant batting
performance who was given a prize by Principal GMHSS Doda, O P Chandail.
The match was officiated by Haris Raza and Yousuf Raza as umpires while Sandeep Kaushik was the scorer.