Vishali of Akhnoor claims jr girls title in Jammu Cyclothon

Cyclists spread message of ‘Clean Environment’

Young cyclists sweating it out during Jammu Cyclothon on Sunday.
Young cyclists sweating it out during Jammu Cyclothon on Sunday.

Excelsior Sports Correspondent
JAMMU, June 3: Vishali of Akhnoor bagged the Junior girls title in the BSA Hercules Jammu Cyclothon, which culminated at Dussehra ground, Gandhi Nagar after passing through various parts of the city, here today.
Deepika Manhas and Jaspreet Kaur clinched second and third place in this category respectively. Meanwhile, in Junior boys category, Boby claimed first slot, while Prabjot Singh got second place and Mohit bagged the third position. In senior category (female), Anjali Choudhary clinched first place, while Sukhleen Kaur and Mandeep Kaur secured second and third positions respectively. Darmender Singh secured first place in senior (male) category, while Ravinder and Prince Choudhary claimed second and third place in this category respectively.
Over one thousand participants drawn from Jammu City and adjoining areas participated in the event, which was flagged off by Member Legislative Council, Jugal Kishore Sharma in the wee hours today.
The Cyclothon was organized by the Board of Development for Sports in India (BDSI) to promote cycling as a sport in the state and generate an awareness regarding protection and conservation of environment.
Speaking on the occasion, Jugal Kishore stressed on the use of cycling for environment protection, adding that it was high time to start taking environment seriously as already a lot of damage has been done to the Mother Nature. He further said that if we do not care for our environment even now, our coming generations will never forgive us.
Amit Sethi, Director BDSI, thanked the representative of the J&K State Sports Council and J&K Cycling association for providing technical assistance in the form of coaches and judges in the event for unbiased decisions.
Among others present at the occasion were Yash Pal Verma, Ex-Chairman, Reasi Municipal Corporation, Kuldeep Raj Gupta from Mahatma Gandhi Intellectual Society, Bharat Bhushan, Hardev Singh, Surjeet Singh Chib, Sanjay Gupta, Surinder Yadav, Veerain Kaul, Sandeep Didwal, Sagar Gupta, Anam Khosla and Sukhmeet Kaur.