Tawi Trekkers hold programme

Upkar Singh, Chairman of Aryan Oriental Convent Hr. Secondary School, Udhampur being honoured by dignitaries at Jammu.
Upkar Singh, Chairman of Aryan Oriental Convent Hr. Secondary School, Udhampur being honoured by dignitaries at Jammu.

Excelsior Sports Correspondent

JAMMU, July 31: Tawi Trekkers J&K, one of the biggest trekking clubs in the country, celebrated the grand success of the first phase of Himalayan Trekking Programme, in an impressive function held here today.
On this occasion a number of young organizers of this prestigious programme, trekkers and institutions which promote adventure activities were honoured by the chief guest Anil Goswami, former Home Secretary of India, the presiding guest Ashwani Sharma, former MLA; guest of honour Neelam Khajuria, Additional Secretary, Youth Services & Sports, J&K; Advisor of the Club Prof. Lalit Magotra; Zorawar Singh Jamwal, Co Chairman and Rahul Sharma, Patron of the club.
The dedication awards of the highest order were conferred upon Prof. Suman Lata, Director Physical Education and Sports, Government College for Women, Parade, Jammu for promoting trekking in a big way and Bharti Bhat, a sports teacher of St. Xavier Convent Senior Secondary school for her huge contribution in promoting Sport Climbing.
The other recipients of dedication award were given to Sonam Sidharth, Director of Dharamshala Himalayan Trekking Programme; Shilpa Charak, Shivani Charak and Arun Deep Singh, main organizers of the Sunday Series of Sport Climbing Competitions; Suksham Verma, Sourav Deep Singh, Anu Sharma, Vishali Sharma and Vaibhav Sharma for their single minded dedication and devotion to promote trekking and sport climbing in J&K.
Sprawling Buds ICSE School, Bantalab was honoured with a dedication award of the Highest Order for outstanding services to the cause of adventure. Three other institutions: St. Xavier Sr. Sec. School, Barnai, Oriental Academy Hr. Sec. School, Jammu and Aryan Oriental Convent Senior Secondary School, Udhampur were honoured for their substantial participation in the Dharamshala Himalayan Trekking Programme. Eleven other institutions were also awarded for their participation in the club’s various activities.
The award for the most prominent personality of the year was presented to Wing Commander Rajesh Mukhi who trekked to the base camp of the Everest and also scaled Island peak (6165m) in the Everest region in the month of June, this year.
Earlier, Shawetica Khajuria, General Secretary of the club welcomed the guests and talked in detail about the various aspects of the Himalayan Trekking Programme.
Chief guest Anil Goswami in his address recalled his association with the club for the last 31 years. He congratulated the club for its sustained efforts in taking trekking to the door steps of the children and also promoting other adventure activities and bringing laurels to J&K by producing national champions, international climbers and a number of Everesters.