Spartans FC, Yahya Warse FC, Towheed FC, IFC Kashmir emerge winners

Winning team posing for a group photograph after the match at Srinagar.
Winning team posing for a group photograph after the match at Srinagar.

DFA Football League

Excelsior Sports Correspondent

SRINAGAR, Sept 20: Spartans FC and Yahya Warse FC emerged winners of the Division’s ‘A’ Football League defeating Kashmir Star FC and Eleven Star FC by 3 goals to nil and 2 goals to nil respectively, being played at Gindun Ground Rajbagh, here today.
Khawar scored two goals & Moomin scored one goal for winning team-Spartans FC, whereas Umer Loan and Riyaz Khan were the scorers for Yahya FC.
Moreover in the ongoing Super Division League, being played at Synthetic Turf TRC, Towheed FC defeated Qamarwari FC by 2 goals to nil and IFC Kashmir trounced FC View by a solitary goal.
In the first match, both the teams started the game aggressively but failed to seize an early goal during the 1st half of the game. In the 35th minute of 2nd half, Towheed FC managed to net the first goal through Umaid while the opposite team-Qamarwari FC tried their best to score an equalizer but failed to do so. In the 55th minute, Towheed FC doubled their lead through Hazik and won the match by 2-0 goals.
In the 2nd match IFC Kashmir defeated FC Views by a solitary goal. In the closely contested match, forwards of both the teams attacked each others’ goal post from both the flanks right from the start. In the 5th minute of the game, Ishfaq Bashir opened an account for IFC Kashmir. Trailing by a goal, the FC Views players launched counter attacks on the opposite goal post, but failed to cross the defence line.
The last 10-minutes of the high-voltage match enthralled the large crowd present at the venue as no team was ready to give an inch. However, when the referee blew the final whistle, IFC Kashmir was leading by 1-0 goal.