PG Deptt girls to take on APS Bari Brahmana ‘A’ in summit clash

Excelsior Sports Correspondent

Women spikers displaying skill during a match of the Jammu District Volleyball Championship at Shastri Nagar ground in Jammu on Saturday. —Excelsior/Rakesh

JAMMU, Sept 22: Post Graduate (PG) Department, University of Jammu, would lock horns with Army public School (APS) Bari Brahamana ‘A’ in the final of girls section of the Jammu District Boys and Girls Volleyball Championship which got underway at Shastri Nagar ground, here today.
The Championship in which 14 teams including 8 boys and 6 girls are taking part, is being organized by the Jammu District Volleyball Association, under the auspices of Jammu and Kashmir Volleyball Association.
Earlier, the chief guest Siddarath Sharma, Joint Secretary, J&K State Sports Council, inaugurated the tournament in an impressive function which among others was attended by Kuldip Mangotra, General Secretary, J&K Volleyball Association, Sudarshan Gupta, Senior Vice President Volleyball Association, Romesh Sharma and HS Gill, organizing secretary of the tournament.
Earlier, in the girls section, PG Department trounced APS Bari Brahamana ‘B’ in straight sets (2-0) by (25-18, 25-20) in the semifinals, while APS Bari Brahamana ‘B’ got better of GCW Gandhi Nagar by (2-1) with the scores of (23-25, 25-17, 15-12).
In preliminary matches of girls section played today, APS Bari Brahmana ‘A’ prevailed upon Government School Badyal Brahmana by (2-0), while APS Bari Brahmana ‘B’ outclassed APS Miran Sahib by (2-1).
Meanwhile, in the boys section, the semifinals line up has been drawn with Pallanwala Club, Shastri Nagar ‘A’, APS Akhnoor and Youth Club Swankha making it to the last four stage. Now, in the semifinals, Pallanwalla would face Shastri Nagar ‘A’ and APS Akhnoor would take on Youth Club Swankha.
APS Akhnoor earlier in boys section got better of New National School Miran Sahib by (2-0), Youth Club Swankha outplayed Shastri Nagar ‘B’ by (2-1), Shastri Nagar ‘A’ beat Slehair and Ram Nagar by (2-1) sets.
The matches were officiated by a panel of experts including Ajay Sharma, Anand Sharma, Akbar Ali, Subash Shastri and Onkar Singh Gill.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here