J&K in command against Tripura as Rasool takes 7 wkts

Excelsior Sports Correspondent
JAMMU, Feb 5: Skipper Parvez Rasool took 7 important wickets by conceding 45 runs in 18.3 overs to put Jammu and Kashmir in command against Tripura in the Ranji Trophy Elite Group-C match at MBB Stadium, Agartala.
Earlier, resuming from an overnight score of 280/9, J&K rode on the batting efforts of all-rounder Abid Mushtaq and speedster Mohammad Mudhasir, who made a partnership of 65 runs to take the score to 329 runs, before Mudhasir was dismissed at his individual score of 27 runs, studded with 2 fours and 2 sixes. Abid Mushtaq remained unbeaten on 76 off 88 balls including 10 fours and 1 six. From Tripura, while Ajoy Sarkar and Harmeet Singh bagged 2 wickets each. Rana Das and Saurav Das also claimed 1 wicket each.
In reply, Tripura bundled out for paltry 187 runs to concede a lead of 142 runs to J&K. Skipper Milind Kumar top scored with 55 runs off 90 balls, studded with 6 fours and 2 sixes, while Pratyush Singh and Manisankar Murasingh contributed 47 and 25 runs to the total respectively. Parvez Rasool spun web around the Tripura batsmen and scalped 7 wickets, while Umar Nazir Mir, Abid Mushtaq and Abdul Samad claimed 1 wicket each.
In the second essay, Jammu and Kashmir were 49/1 in 18 overs, thus gaining a lead of 191 runs with 9 wickets in hand.
Opener Suryansh Raina was batting on 26 runs, while Shubham Khajuria was on 11 at stumps on day-2 today. Jiyaad Nazir Magrey was the only batsman to be dismissed for 1 run. Murasingh took the wicket for Tripura.
There is still two days of play left in the match and J&K will enjoy a certain edge as far as the result of this match is concerned.
Jammu and Kashmir is on course of making it to the last eight stage in this tournament. So, an outright victory here will take it closer to quarterfinals.
Brief Scores: J&K 329 all out in 95.5 overs (Jiyaad Nazir Magrey 66, Aquib Nabi 46, Abid Mushtaq 76 not out; M B Mura Singh 4/100) and 49 for 1 in 18 overs vs Tripura 187 all out in 60.5 overs (Milid 55, Pratyush Singh 47; Parvez Rasool 7/45).
At Rohtak: Assam 97 all out in 37 overs (Rajjakuddin Ahmed 35 not out; Tinu Kundu 5/35; Harshal Patel 4/32) and 197 all out in 56.5 overs (Saahil Jain 63, Gokul Sharma 44, Riyan Parag 36; Harshal Patel 4/49, A Chahal 2/33, A Hooda 2/35) lost to Haryana 198 all out in 46.3 overs (R P Sharma 59, Chaitanya Bishnoi 46, Harshal Patel 28; Ranjeet Mali 3/34, Mukthar Hussain 3/38, Siddarth Sarmah 3/65) and 100 for 3 in 20 overs (Ankit Kumar 30, Shivam Chauhan 26 not out). Points: Haryana: 6, Assam: 0.
At Dehardun: Uttarakhand 83 all out in 23.4 overs (D Negi 21 not out; Raushan Raj 3/27, Diwesh Pathania 3/28) and 137 all out in 58.1 overs (Tanmay Srivastava 52; Raushan Raj 3/11, Sachidanand Pandey 3/29) lost to Services 173 all out in 52.2 overs (Rahul Singh Gahlaut 45, Mumtaz Qadir 37; Mayank Mishra 6/48) and 48 for no loss in 17.4 overs (SU Yadav 24 not out, M Qadir 23 not out). Points: Services: 7, Uttarakhand: 0.
At Pune: Odisha 293 all out in 101.1 overs (Shantanu Mishra 84, Rajesh Dhuper 110 not out, Anurag Sarangi 41; A Palkar 4/81) vs Maharashtra 219 for 2 in 73 overs (Ruturaj Gaikwad 110 batting, Ankit Bawane 80 batting).
At Jamshedpur: Chhattisgarh 559 all out in 160.3 overs (Harpreet Singh Bhatia 221, Ajay Mandal 121 not out, Jiwanjot Singh 52; Sahil Raj 3/83, Sonu Kumar Singh 3/158) vs Jharkhand 36 for 4 in 10 overs (Veer Pratap Singh 3/7).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here