Gandhi Nagar lifts Cricket Tourney title; Poonch emerges overall winner in Taekwondo

Girls exhibit talent in Volleyball, Kho-Kho, Badminton

Excelsior Correspondent

JAMMU, Sept 30: Gandhi Nagar Zone outplayed Jammu Zone and lifted Cricket Tournament title, while Poonch emerged winner in the Taekwondo Competition. However, girls exhibited their talent in the Volleyball, Kho-Kho and Badminton tournaments, which were organized at Mini Stadium Udhampur.
JAMMU: Additional District Development Commissioner Jammu Rakesh Dubey inaugurates Under-14 Boys Cricket tournament at Khel Gaon Nagrota in presence of Sukh Dev Raj Sharma, DYSSO Jammu.
The tournament for Under-17 boys concluded as Zone Gandhi Nagar outplayed Zone Jammu in the final today.
The main aim of the tournament was to select the best players for next level of tournament coming ahead.
Convener Anju Gupta, ZPEO Marh along with ZPEO Gandhi Nagar Chander Kanta, Incharge Activity Ram Murti, Vijay Kumar Sharma, BK Bhat, Ravinder Singh and Technical Officials Mohammad Farooq, Sat Paul Singh, Jagtar Singh, Swati, Satika, Mukesh Sharma, Suresh Singh, Honey Mehra, Anil Sharma, Vikram Dogra and other officials of the Department of Youth Services and Sports District Jammu were present on the occasion.
In final match, Zone Jammu scored 87 runs by losing 3 wickets in 10 overs. Ishant made 34 runs, while Damanpreet scored 25 runs.
Vismad of Zone Gandhi Nagar scalped 1 wicket.
In reply, Zone Gandhi Nagar chased the target and won the match by 7 wickets. Gursimran scored 32 runs while Paras made 31 runs.
From Zone Jammu, Tanish took 2 wickets.
In Uder-14, Zone Bhalwal beat Zone RS Pura by 12 runs in the inaugural tie. Batting first, Bhalwal scored 62 runs by losing 5 wickets in 6 overs. Shaurya made 21 runs and Aryan scored 10 runs.
From RS Pura side, Gurtaj took 2 wickets.
In the second inning, RS Pura scored 50 runs by losing 1 wicket in 6 overs thus lost the match by 12 runs. Raman was the top scorer with 23 runs.
In second match, Zone Jammu beat Zone Bishnah by 34 runs. Batting first, Jammu scored 63runs by losing 2 wickets in 6 overs. Vidit made 24 runs and Karanvir scored 10 runs.
In second inning, Bishnah failed to chase the target and bundled out at 29 runs by losing 9 wickets in 6 overs. Khuspreet scored 8 runs.
For Jammu, Nishchay took 2 wickets, while Ashutosh and Sagar took 1 wicket each.
UDHAMPUR: Girls exhibited talent in the District Level Inter Zonal Tournament organized in the discipline of Volleyball, Kho-Kho and Badminton at Mini Stadium here.
SSP Udhampur Sargun Shukla was the chief guest who inaugurated the tournament while Swaran Singh District Youth Services and Sports Officer Udhampur presided over the function.
About 180 girls drawn from 7 zones of district Udhampur participated in the competitions.
On the occasion, SSP Udhampur Sargun Shukla distributed sports kits to the participants.
In U-14 Badminton final, Zone Udhampur beat Zone Tikri, whereas in U-17 category, Zone Jib defeated Zone Panchari and in U-19 category, Zone Panchari defeated Zone Udhampur.
In U-14 Volleyball final, Zone Udhampur beat Zone Jib, whereas in U-17 category, Zone Tikri outplayed Zone Chenani and in U-19 category, Zone Udhampur defeated Zone Jib.
In U-14 Kho-Kho final, Zone Jib defeated Zone Udhampur, whereas in U-17 category, Zone Chenani beat Zone Tikri and in U-19 category, Zone Chenani defeated Zone Udhampur.
The matches were officiated by Kuldeep Sharma, Manik Nargotra, Bikram Singh, Sourab Pandit, Raj Kumar Dogra, Raj Kumar Gupta, Deepika Manhas, Rakesh Sawhney, Rishi Kumar Sharma, Ashutosh, Jatin Sethi, Jyotika, Nisha Thakur, Vipin Photra and Ravi Kumar.
POONCH: Poonch Zone remained overall winner in the Inter Zone District Level Taekwondo Competition organized for all age group boys by Department of Youth Services and Sports at Indoor Hall Sports Stadium here.
Total 100 students from Poonch, Sathra, Kuniyiana and Nangali Zones participated in this competition.
The chief guest in the valedictory function was Mudassir Hussain DySP Headquarters Poonch, who distributed medals and trophies among the winner and runner up teams.
The whole event was conducted under the supervision of Narinder Singh ZPEO Poonch and Vijay Kumar PEM, Convener of the competition.
The technical panel was headed by Rajinder Singh PET (National Referee), Devinder Singh REK, Sandeep Kumar REK and Sachin Sharma REK.
Poonch Zone won overall trophy while Kuniyian Zone remained runner up today.
Vishvas Sudan, Karan Bhargav, Akarshit Sudan, Sukhvinder Singh, Abhishek Sawhney, Ranveet Singh, Mohammad Shoieb, Toyyeb Hazoor, Toseef, Tahir Mohammad, Qasim Hussain, Mohammad Irfan Shah, Kanav Bali, Zahid and Mohammad Ateeq won gold medals, while Salman Dar, Sarah Ahmed, Rizwan, Ali, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohin Ali Kazmi, Ruder Sharma, Harshdev Singh, Mohammad Salman and Vishnu clinched silvers medals.
Amrish Kumar PEM, Narinder Singh PEM, Kulwant Singh PEM, Sarla Bakshi PEM, Harjeet Kour PEM and Rakesh Kumar Junior Assistant were present on the occasion.