Dy Mayor inaugurates Badminton C’ship

Deputy Mayor, Jammu, Baldev Singh Billawaria interacting with players during opening ceremony of 38th Jammu District Badminton Championships.

Excelsior Sports Correspondent

JAMMU, July 12: Deputy Mayor, Jammu, Baldev Singh Billawaria has Inaugurated 38th Jammu District Badminton Championships at Maulana Azad Indoor Stadium, here today.
The 38th Jammu District Badminton Championships-2023 commenced by attracting approximately 180 talented boys and girls from various corners of the district. The prestigious tournament was inaugurated by Baldev Singh Billawaria, Deputy Mayor Jammu and the esteemed presence of dignitaries.
The Jammu District Badminton Championship is a much-anticipated event in the sporting calendar of Jammu which showcased the exceptional skills and competitive spirit of the budding badminton players in the region. The tournament serves as a platform for these talented individuals to demonstrate their prowess and vie for the district championship title.
Deputy Mayor, Jammu, Baldev Singh Billawaria, expressed his delight at the commencement of the tournament. He emphasized the importance of promoting sports and nurturing young talent for the overall development of the district. Billawaria extended his gratitude to the participants for their dedication, determination, and commitment to the sport. He added, “Sports play a vital role in shaping the character of an individual. It teaches discipline, teamwork, and resilience, which are essential qualities for success in life. I am confident that the Jammu District Badminton Championships will provide the platform for these young players to showcase their skills and inspire the next generation of badminton enthusiasts.”
The tournament was organized by the Jammu District Badminton Association and during the tournament; the players competed in various categories, including singles, doubles, and mixed doubles, in their quest for victory. The event was attended by a large number of dignitaries including Dr. O.D. Sharma, Chairman, Badminton Association of J&K and Vice President, Badminton Association of India, Balbir Jamwal, General Secretary, Badminton Association of J&K, D. V. Sharma, General Secretary, Jammu City and District Badminton Association, Anil Gaind, Pawanjit Singh, Basanti Bhat Vice Presidents of Jammu City and District Badminton Association. The matches are being played under the supervision of Rahul Sharma, Chief Referee.