Bowlers, Tomar script emphatic victory for J&K

Senior Women’s One Day Trophy

Excelsior Sports Correspondent
PUDUCHERRY, Jan 25: Magnificent knock of unbeaten 60 runs by gutsy Anju Tomar and extraordinary display of bowling skills by almost all the bowlers, especially skipper Sandhya Sayal, consistent Sarla Devi and Rubia Sayed guided Jammu and Kashmir to a convincing victory over equally poised Odisha in the Senior Women’s One Day Trophy at CAP Ground-4, Puducherry today.
Earlier, winning the toss and batting first, Odisha managed to score a modest total of 130 runs in 49.2 overs as J&K bowlers showed discipline and hit good areas to make the rival batters struggle for runs. Subhra Nirjharini Swain top scored with 42 runs off 104 balls, studded with 6 boundaries, while Indrani Chhatria contributed brisk 37 runs off 42 balls with the help of 5 boundaries. Sushree Dibyadarshini (13) was the only other batter to cross double-figure mark.
For J&K right-arm off-spinner Sandhya Sayal, left-arm seamer Sarla Devi and right-arm medium pacer Rubia Syed apart from being economical, took 2 wickets each, while Rifat Chowdhary and Anju Tomar claimed one wicket each.
In reply, J&K today applied a right ploy rather made a right move by sending all-rounder Sarla Devi to open the innings with consistent Shivanti Gupta, though it failed to yield good results as Sarla just scored 8 runs off 18 balls, yet it can be termed as a good decision because she is a batter who likes to play with the pace of the ball and sending her late in the order carries no sense. Anju Tomar was brilliant today. She scored unbeaten 60 runs to power Jammu and Kashmir to a convincing victory. She hit 7 delectable boundaries in her 98-ball valuable innings. Shivanti Gupta and Bushra Ashraf also contributed 17 runs each, while explosive Rubia Syed brisk 12 runs off 8 balls with one four and one six.
For Odisha, Sujata Mallik and Rasnara Parwin claimed one wicket each.
Member-Administration JKCA, Brig Anil Gupta congratulated the team for this magnificent victory.
The team is being accompanied by Chetan Dhingra as Head Coach, Irshad Hassan as Manager, Meenu Singh Slathia as Assistant Coach, Anuradha Sharma as Co-Manager, Rohit Rana as Trainer, Mujtaba Wani as Video Analyst and Lovely Bansal as Physiotherapist.