Bhatti, Sethi help PES to lift Gufran Memorial T20 title

Excelsior  Sports Correspondent
DODA, June 23: Splendid half-century by Kapil Bhatti and superb 4-wicket haul by Kandiwal Sethi helped President Eleven Sunderbani (PES) drub Friends Cricket Club Ghat by 4 wickets in the summit clash to lift the All India 9th Gufran Memorial T20 Cricket Championship, which concluded at Sports Stadium, here today.
The tournament was organized by Young Star Cricket Club Doda and sponsored by J&K Bank, Rashtriya Rifles 10 RR Unit Doda and Bajaj Allianz.
Earlier, put into bat, Friends Cricket Club Ghat scored decent 163 runs in stipulated 20 overs, losing 6 wickets in the process.
Sandeep top scored with brilliant 62 runs, while Aditiya Jain and Shahdab Wani contributed 34 and 16 runs to the total respectively. From President Eleven Sunderbani, Kandiwal Sethi was the most successful bowler who claimed 4 wickets, while Ankit took one wicket.
In reply, PES chased the required target in a thrilling contest by making the winning run on the last ball of the match, losing 6 wickets in the process, thus won the match by 4 wickets. Kapil Bhatti was top scorer with 54 runs, while Varun and Ankit contributed 34 and 21 runs respectively.
From Friends Cricket Club Ghat, Amit Sahni and Ravinder shared one wicket each. Kandiwal Sethi of President Eleven Sunderbani was declared as man of the match for his superb bowling performance.
District Development Commissioner (DDC), Doda, Mubarak Singh was the chief guest on the valedictory function, while Commanding Officer (CO) 10 RR Col Sunil Mishra was the guest of honor .
Later-on, chief guest along with other dignitaries distributed prizes among the winners and runners-up teams. The winners were awarded with a trophy and cash prize of Rs 75,000 by the chief guest, while runner-up team was presented a trophy and cash prize of Rs 40,000 by CO 10 RR Col Sunil Mishra which was sponsored by 10 RR. Rs 10,000 cash prize was distributed among the officiating umpires of the tournament, while Rs 10,000 was also presented to Ankit Dabas of President Eleven Sunderbani for being adjudged as man of the tournament.
The match was officiated by Subhash Mathur and Ifroz Rather as umpires, while Shahid Pampori acted as scorer.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here