Aravindh, Anurag lead jointly after completion of seventh round

Chess players busy in making moves during Senior National Chess Championship at Jammu on Thursday. -Excelsior/Rakesh
Chess players busy in making moves during Senior National Chess Championship at Jammu on Thursday. -Excelsior/Rakesh

Senior National Chess Championship

Excelsior Sports Correspondent
JAMMU, Dec 13: Grand Masters Aravindh Chithambaram and Anurag Mhamal are leading jointly by 6 points each at the end of the seventh round of the National Senior Open Chess Championship, being played at Gurjar Desh Charitable Trust, Jammu.
On the second spot, seven players GM Vaibhav Suri, GM Sengupta Deep, GM Vishnu Prasanna, GM Swapnil Dhopade, IM Stany, Sammed Jayakumar Shete and GB Harshavardhan are with 5.5 points each.
GM Aravindh Chithambaram of Tamil Nadu drew with GM Sendgupta Deep of PSPB, GM Vishnu Prasanna of Tamil Nadu drew with GM Vaibhav Suri of PSPB, GM Anurag Mhamal of Goa beat GM Deepan Chakkravarthy of RSPB, IM Stany of AAI beat IM Girinath PDS of RSPB, GM Swapnil Dhopade of RSPB beat IM Konguvel Ponnuswamy of PSPB, IM Rathnakaran of RSPB drew with IM Karthikeyan of RSPB, IM Vignesh NR of Tamil Nadu drew with Ritviz Parab of Goa, Sammed Jayakumar Shete of Maharashtra beat IM Swayams Mishra of Air India, IM Akash G of Tamil Nadu drew with IM Rahul Srivatshav of Telangana, Harshavardhan GB of Tamil Nadu beat GM Venkatesh MR of PSPB, Srijit Paul of West Bengal lost to GM Abhijeet Gupta of PSPB, IM Saravana Krishnan of Tamil Nadu drew with GM Sundararajan Kidambi of Tamil Nadu, IM Nitin S of RSPB beat Neelash Saha of West Bengal, GM Roy Chowdhury Saptarshi of RSPB drew with IM Shyaamnikhil of RSPB, FM Dushyant Sharma of Punjab drew with GM Laxman R R of RSPB, GM Bakre Tejas of Air India beat IM Mohota Nisha of PSPB, GM Neelotpal Das of PSPB beat Saurabh Anand of Bihar, IM Rajesh VAV of Tamil Nadu beat FM Wagh Suyog of Maharashtra, Baivab Mishra of Orissa lost to GM Thipsay Praveen of Maharashtra and IM Viani Antonio Dcunha of Karnataka beat Bhambure Shantanu of Maharashtra.
Still 6 more rounds are to be played in this event.
Around 160 players from 27 States and 8 special units are participating including 19 Grand Masters and 20 International Masters and some Arjuna Awardee players. Total 50 titled players are playing in this historical and strongest ever national of India till date.
All J&K Chess Association under the aegis of All India Chess Federation is organizing this event. This is also a Asian Zonal 3.7 event as India is a separate zone in Asia. Top 10 board games were shown live on internet by expert Ganesh Babu of Tamil Nadu.
Total prizes of Rs 20 lakhs will be distributed among top 10 players and first prize being Rs 5 lakh. Total 13 rounds will be played. Selected players will lead the Asian Zone 3.7 in world events.
Soham Kamotra, Sumit Grover, Khalid Amin, Ajit Singh, Ankush Bhardwaj, SP Sharma, Ashutosh Jamwal and Surinder are players from J&K in this event.
From J&K, State Champion Soham Kamotra and Khalid Amin are at 3 points each. J&K players are getting great exposure and experience in this very high quality event.
The event is played under Fide laws of Chess under Swiss System. International Arbiter Dharmendra Kumar is the Chief Arbiter of this event who is supported by seven Deputy Arbiters.
The matches are conducted under the overall supervision of AJKCA President Atul Kumar Gupta. All J&K Chess Association members present in today matches include AR Wani, Ashiq Ahmad Kolu, Baldev Raj, Taranvir Singh, Kuljeet Jamwal, Farooq Ahmad, Mohammad Shafi, Khalid Amin, Raj Kumar, Vikas Nanda, Rakesh Gupta and Mohit Bharti.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here