Anoop, Naval & three others recommended for Dronacharya Award

New Delhi, Aug 14:
Wrestling coach Anoop Singh and Paralympics coach Naval singh were among the five names recommended for this year’s Dronacharya Award by a selection panel today.
Anoop and Naval were recommended on the basis of current performance (2011-2014), while Nihar Amin (swimming), S R Singh (boxing), Harbans Singh (athletics) were considered in the ‘Lifetime Achievement Category’ in which achievements over a period of 20 years is taken into account.
Three-time National Champion and international wrestler, Anoop has guided top grapplers such as Sushil Kumar, Yogeshwar Dutt, Satyawart Kadian, Bajrang, Amit Dahiya, and around 58 wrestlers to achieve their dream.
The recommendations will now be sent to the Sports Minister Sarbananda Sonowal, who will take a final decision. Only after the Sports Minister signs the file, the names would be made public.
The awards are to be given away by the President Pranab Mukherjee on August 29, the National Sports Day.
Tennis star Sania Mirza has been recommended for the prestigious Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna, while star cricketer Rohit Sharma and ace shooter Jitu Rai were among the 17 sportspersons picked for this year’s Arjuna awards. PTI


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here