30th Poonch District TT C’ship concludes

Dignitaries and winning players posing for a group photograph at Poonch.
Dignitaries and winning players posing for a group photograph at Poonch.

Excelsior Sports Correspondent
POONCH, Nov 21: 30th Poonch District Table Tennis Championship, organised by District Poonch Table Tennis Association (DPTTA), concluded at Indoor Sports Complex, here today.
Faizal Mir emerged winner of Men’s single title by defeating Pratham Suri by 3-1 sets (11-9, 11-8, 9-11&11-6) whereas Pratham drubbed Ridhik by 2-1sets (11-9, 11-6 &11-8) in Sub Junior category.
In Junior category, Ridhik beat Pranav by 2-0 sets (11-6 &11-9) while in Men’s doubles, Ridhik and Pratham trounced Gagan and Gurjot by 2-1 sets (11-9, 11-9 &11-7).
Deputy Commissioner Poonch, Rahul Yadav was the chief guest of the concluding ceremony while SSP Poonch, Ramesh Angral was the guest of honour.
Earlier, DPTTA president, Ajeet Singh Jeet presented a detailed report of the achievements of the Association in promoting the game whereas Er Saleem Bandey, general secretary said that the Association has been regularly organizing the tournaments for the last 30 years and thanked District Administration for proving indoor sports complex.
He further said that the selected players would participate in coming J&K UT level championship. Pardeep Khanna conducted the proceedings of the function.
SSP Poonch Ramesh Angral while speaking on the occasion said that Poonch has huge talent in sports and Police also has done a lot to give a proper platform to youth to show their talent. He also lauded the role of T.T Association in promoting the game.
While speaking on the occasion the chief guest said that District Poonch was blessed with extraordinary talent in various games whereas the guest of honour said that the police have done a lot to provide a proper platform to youth to show their hidden talents.
The final matches were organised under the supervision of Salil Raina.
ADC Basharat Hussain, Jahangir Mir, Ex- Deputy Chairman Legislative Council, DySP Hqrs, Mudassir Choudhary, DySP Azeem Qureshi, Imtiaz Ali Bandey, Ajaz Jan, Taj Mir, Adv Sanjay Raina, Adv Mohd Zaman, Bashir Ahmed I/c Manager, Tariq Khan, Matinder Pal Singh, Pawan Sharma, Kewal Krishan, Sanjay Kumar, Sandeep Luthra, Nirdosh Kumar I/c Manager, Pankaj Maini, Bashir Khaki, Dr Jasbir Singh, Narinder Singh, Moulvi Farqeed, Gurmeet Singh Raja and Jagjeet Singh were also present during the function.