Haryana beats Delhi, emerges champion in Inter-State Cricket for blind

Winners of Inter-State Cricket Tournament for blind receiving trophy from chief guest at MA Stadium in Jammu.
Winners of Inter-State Cricket Tournament for blind receiving trophy from chief guest at MA Stadium in Jammu.

Excelsior Sports Correspondent

JAMMU, Oct 11: Scripting a narrow victory by 10 runs over formidable Delhi, Haryana lifted the title trophy in the Inter-State Cricket for blind, organised jointly by Cricket Association for Blind Jammu and Kashmir (CABJK) and Cricket Association for Blind Kerala (CABK) in collaboration with Jammu and Kashmir Sports Council at MA Stadium, here today.
Batting first, Haryana scored 188 runs. Rohit Sharma top scored with 70 runs. For Delhi, Mukesh Kumar bagged 1 wicket.
In reply, Delhi managed to score 178 runs, thus lost the match by a narrow margin of 10 runs. Vipin Kumar top scored with 50 runs, while Munish contributed 48 runs to the total. For Haryana, Ramveer Singh was the pick of the bowlers who took 2 important wickets. Ramveer Singh from Haryana and Mukesh Kumar from Delhi were jointly adjudged as the man of the series for their brilliant show.
Ashok Singh, Divisional Sports Officer Jammu and Kashmir Sports Council was the chief guest on the occasion, who distributed prizes among the winners and runners-up teams.
Speaking on the occasion, Ashok Singh lavished praise on the organisers and appreciated the visually impaired cricketers for making their disability as their ability.
He, on behalf of J&K Sports Council assured the organisers for providing assistance in their future events and wished them good luck for future endeavours.
International blind cricketers Deepak Malik from Haryana and Sonu from Madhya Pradesh also spoke on the occasion and praised the organisers for holding the event in a befitting manner.
“Five states/UTs took part in this mega event and the participating teams included Haryana, Delhi, J&K, Kerala and Madhya Pradesh. I appeal Jammu and Kashmir Government and Jammu and Kashmir Cricket Association (JKCA) for providing us assistance in our future events,” said Ajay Kumar, General Secretary CABJK.
The tournament was held under the overall supervision of Rohit Sharma, President CABJK; Ajay Kumar, General Secretary; Akash Dhar, Vice President and Imam Hussain, Treasurer CABJK.